Balbriggan, North County and Cork County All Win on Championship Day 1

Terenure v Balbriggan

On a showery day in Terenure, the Home Side entertained Balbriggan. Terenure batted first and suffered an early setback when Mick Cotter fell to the second delivery from Josh Newport. Kenny McDonald didn't last long falling to Duane Harper in the first ball of the second over. Jack Webster next out for 18 in the 7th over.

Seamus Lynch and Donal Vaughan settled things down and batted steadily putting on 99 for the next wicket. Enter Balbriggan's Spinner Clint Hinchliffe. Donal Vaughan went for 30 in the 30th over with the score at 123, Hinchliffe's 1st wicket. Seamus Lynch was now batting beautifully.

Clint Hinchliffe then set about the Terenure batting. He had Sidharth Nair caught for 1, Abdul Qadir Ishaq lbw for 9, Sol Bell-McGaw bowled for 0, Diarmuid Lynch bowled for 6, Patrick Ryan caught for 1. Mark Thomas not out 4. All through the mayhem, Seamus Lynch stood tall eventually falling to Newport for a brilliant 92 with 8 fours and 3 sixes. Terenure had been bowled out for 180 in 43.4 overs.

Clint Hinchliffe with the superb figures of 10 overs 2 maidens 6 for 30. Josh Newport 3-36 and Duane Harper 1-20 the other wicket takers.

Again rain was in play. Connor Fletcher and Justin Kavanagh Martin started steadily for Balbriggan. Kavanagh Martin fell for 10 in the 7th over. Clint Hinchliffe joined Fletcher, who fell for 15 when the score was 45. Farooq Nasr went for 8 when the score was 59.

Nathan Rooney and Clint Hinchliffe brought the score to 104 when the rain came, Rooney went for 23 from 36 balls. Ehtesham Ahmed scored 22 from 19 to quicken things up. Hinchliffe was all the time watchful at the other end guiding the ship.

Duane Harper joined Hinchliffe to bring Balbriggan to their D/L Target. Harper 4 not out and Clint Hinchliffe finishing off a superb day for him personally on 43 not out. Diarmuid Lynch took 2-27, Mark Thomas 1-27, Kenny McDonald 1-37 and Jack Webster 1-40 the Terenure wicket takers. Balbriggan finishing 157 for 5, winning by 5 Wickets D/L.

Clontarf v North County

Clontarf took on North County at the Bull Ring on an overcast day in Dublin. Clontarf batted first and going was slow. Macalister Wright went for 4 when the score was 8. Bill Coughlan battled to the 20th over when he was bowled by Dhram Sing for 19. Eoghan Delany and Robert Forest put on 34 when Forrest was out for 20.

Delany was batting well. Andrew Vincent fell for 17 off 30 balls. Andrew Poynter joined Eoghan Delany and the scoring increased, with both scoring well. They put on 64 in 10 overs. Poynter fell lbw to Eddie Richardson for 28. David Delany joined his brother Eoghan.

David Delany finished 25 not out with Eoghan Delany with a brilliant 101 not out from 115 balls with 7 fours. Eddie Richards 2-38, Yassar Cook 1-16, Owen Graham 1-31 and Dhram Singh 1-54 the wicket takers. Rain was in the air.

North County lost two early wickets, both to Joe Morrissey. Ryan Tobin for 0 and Niall McGovern for 10 in the 4th over. Yassar Cook and Jamie Grassi took over then and settled things down. Rain intervened so D/L was introduced.

The pair put on a partnership of 128 with Jamie Grassi not out 68 in 89 balls and Yassar Cook 78 not out in 8 in 83 balls with 12 fours. North County winning by 8 wickets on D/L.

Cork v Railway Union

At The Mardyke Cork County welcomed Railway Union. Again rain was about. Cork batted first, and the top four all got starts in difficult circumstances. Jose George an excellent 57 from 50 balls, Robert Duggan 24 from 43 balls, Cormac Hassett a run a ball 37 and Jeremy Benton 23, Harvey Wotton and Muhammad Zuhair Shah went for 0 and 2. Ritesh Sah made 21 and Aaron Cawley made 21 and 23 at close to a run a ball. Kevin O'Sullivan went for 1 leaving Abdul Jabbar Younus not our 4 and Daniel Kennedy not out 1. Cork made a rain affected 221 for 9 in 39.2 overs.

Andy Jackson 3-26, Shariq Khan 1-24, Glenn Querl 1-33, Eoin Barron 1-44 the wicket takers. There was also 2 run outs. Railway Union needed 191 on D/L. They lost Glen Querl early for 4. Saad Ullah Khan and Hashir Sultan put on 48 before Sultan went for 26.

Saad Ullah Khan scored a run a ball 47. Eoin Barron 7 and Hashir Sultan 17 went quickly. Ali Elahi and Ciaran Divney battled with 29 and 19, but the Cork bowlers were on top. Eoghan Grehan 3, Shariq Kahn 6 and Andy Jackson 4 with Digamber Mishra 4 not out left Railway all out for 180 in 37 overs. Jeremy Benton 3-30, Kevin O'Sullivan 3-36, Daniel Kennedy 1-3, Jose George 1-23 and Harvey Wootton 1-35 the wicket takers. Cork winning by 11 runs on D/L.