Holders Donemana are out of the NW Senior Cup after a quite stunning innings by former player Johnny Thompson.

‘JT’ made 144 as he tore apart the Donemana attack, hitting 16 sixes and 8 fours – 132 of his 144 runs coming in boundaries as Newbuildings kept their nerve to win by 28 runs.

Batting first Newbuildings had reached 100 for 3 when Thompson came to the wicket in the 18th over, but lost a flurry of wickets with the McBrine brothers, William (4-61) and Andy (3-9) doing the damage as they slumped to 143 for 8 in the 30th.

JT then took centre stage as the last two wickets added 130, sharing a 9th wicket stand of 72 with Gregory McIvor (12) while Gary Mitchell (0*) faced just two balls as he and JT put on 58 in just 23 deliveries as they totaled 273.

The Donemana chase began well as Kyle Dougherty (45) and Dwayne McGerrigle (71) shared an opening stand of 118 in 18 overs before both fell in the space of four balls.

McGerrigle’s 71 came from only 52 balls and included 6 fours and 6 sixes.

William McClintock took up the mantle, and he too made 71 at an even quicker rate, taking only 40 balls (7 fours and 5 sixes).

At 210 for 3 Donemana looked on course to coast to the win, but Ross Hunter dismissed McClintock, the first of four wickets for the medium pacer, and when JT (3-58) got in the act, Donemana crumbled.

233 for 4 suddenly became 235 for 9, five wickets falling for just two runs in the space of 16 balls. Hunter had the final say as he bowled number 11 Jordan McGonigle to seal a 28-run win in front of a jubilant home support.

There was an equally brilliant individual performance in the other semi-final as Brigade’s DD Barr almost single-handedly knocked Ardmore out at The Bleachgreen.

His part-time leg-spin saw him claim six for 36 as Ardmore fell away after a strong start. Former Beechgrove opener Rachit Gaur top scored with 45 as he and Dharm Singh put on an opening stand of 29 before the latter was trapped lbw by Ifty Hussain (2-23).

Ross Allen (2-30) also bowled well as Ardmore found spin difficult to score against, but a steady display saw them reach 124 for 3 before Barr took centre stage.

Ryan Brolly’s unbeaten 30 gave the hosts something to defend, but 192 looked light at the halfway-point and so it proved, despite the early loss of Ross Allen.

A second wicket stand of 85 between Barr and Adam McDaid (38) gave Brigade the solid base they’ve rarely enjoyed this season.

Barr ensured the four wickets win as his brilliant 94 not out (9 fours) sealed victory with eight balls left, despite the best efforts of Tyron Koen (3-31).

In league action, Bready are just one win away from the Premiership title after another demolition job on their challengers, this time Eglinton suffering.

Four wickets for Sri Lankan professional Irosh Samarasooriya (4-26) and two for Conor Olphert reduced Eglinton to 67 for 7, with Tommy Orr (22) and Craig Averill (19) the early run scorers for the villlagers.

There was a defiant rearguard as number nine Mattie Mills top scored with 35 not out (4 fours) adding 50 for the eighth wicket with skipper Andy Millar (22) but a final total of 126 was never likely to challenge the unbeaten leaders.

Gavin Roulston (19) and David Rankin put on 40 for the first wicket, before Mark Averill struck to dismiss the teenager.

That was Eglinton’s solitary success as Rankin and Jamie Magee (30*) shared an unbroken second wicket stand of 90 in 20 overs, with the former Irish international opener hitting an even time 70 not out (5 fours, 2 sixes) as they eased to a maximum points win.

They will be crowned champions if they beat Donemana in their final game, or if the Holm side and Ardmore fail to win their league games today (SUN) against Fox Lodge and Newbuildings.

In the Sammy Jeffrey Cup, St Johnston received a walk-over against The Nedd, while Fox Lodge atoned for their loss in the Eric Cooke final by beating Burndennett by seven runs in a thriller.

A solid batting effort saw six Foxies batters pass 20, with TJ Nicholl (40), Jason Milligan (36) and Jamie McIntyre (36*) their main contributors in a total of 245 – three wickets for Aaron McDermott and two apiece for Gary Neely and Eddie McGettigan.

McGettigan then hit 6 fours and 4 sixes in a top score of 71 from 66 balls to put Burndennett in contention, and with Andy Barr also thumping 5 sixes in a hard-hit 65 not out, the result was in the balance right until the end.

Fox Lodge prevailed though, with Johnny Robinson taking four wickets, Adam Walker three and crucially at the death two for Jason Milligan.

In the two Championship matches, Strabane looked to have enjoyed their cup triumph on Friday night a bit too much as they were skittled for 61 chasing 229 at Killyclooney – Mark Gordon (5-28) and Timmy Dougherty (4-31) doing the damage.

Alan Colhoun (44), Derek Lynch (41), William Finlay (38) and Darren Moan (31) all in the runs for the home side.

Ballyspallen moved into second place in the Championship as they beat Bonds Glen by 44 runs at Bridge Park.

Damith Perera top scored with 38 and Josh Wilson made 29 in their score of 146 – four wickets for teenage spinner Sam Kincaid (4-11).

The Bee Gees found the going equally challenging and they were bundled out for 102, with only John Long (24) offering serious resistance.

Curtis McElwee (3-23), and the Kennedy brother with two wickets apiece the main wicket takers in an impressive bowling display.

There’s no shortage of action on Sunday as Brigade travel to Carrickfergus in the semi-final of the All-Ireland T20 Cup, while locally the remaining two senior cup games see Eglinton at home to Bonds Glen and Bready taking on Ballyspallen.

In the Premier League Ardmore face Newbuildings at the Bleachgreen, while Fox Lodge host Donemana.

There's also the quarter-finals of the Sammy Jeffrey Shield with Strabane home to Coleraine and Glendermott have home advantage against Killyclooney.

In the Championship, leaders St Johnston are home to Burndennett where a win would ensure an unassailable lead.


Ardmore lost to Brigade by 4 wickets
Ardmore 192 (50.0 overs, R Gaur 45, R Brolly 30*, D Singh 29, D Barr 6-36, I Hussain 2-23, R Allen 2-30)
Brigade 193-6 (48.4 overs, D Barr 94*, A McDaid 38, T Koen 3-31)

Newbuildings beat Donemana by 28 runs
Newbuildings 273 (44.3 overs, J Thompson 144, Ryan Hunter 34, M Hanna 27, W McBrine 4-61, A McBrine 3-9, L Dougherty 2-53)
Donemana 245 (41.4 overs, D McGerrigle 71, W McClintock 71, K Dougherty 45, Ross Hunter 4-41, J Thompson 3-58)


Eglinton (0) lost to Bready (25) by 9 wickets
Eglinton 126 (38.0 overs, M Mills 35*, Irosh Samarasooriya 4-26, C Olphert 2-33)
Bready 130-1 (29.2 overs, D Rankin 70*, J Magee 30*)


At Burndennett, Fox Lodge beat Burndennett by 7 runs
Fox Lodge 245 (48.2 overs; TJ Nicholl 40, J Milligan 36, J McIntyre 36*, J Heywood 31, A Doherty 26, A Heywood 23; A McDermott 3-39, G Neely 2-30, E McGettigan 2-44)
Burndennett 238 (48.5 overs; E McGettigan 71, A Barr 65*, R McCay 25, M Pollock 22; J Robinson 4-57, A Walker 3-45, J Milligan 2-16)

St Johnston walkover v The Nedd


At Killyclooney, Killyclooney (25pts) beat Strabane (0 pts) by 168 runs
Killyclooney 229 (37.4 overs; A Colhoun 44, D Lynch 41, W Finlay 38, D Moan 31; R Gallagher 3-34, R Kanala 2-27, R Logue 2-36)
Strabane 61 (16.2 overs; M Gordon 5-28, T Dougherty 4-31)

At Bridge Park, Ballyspallen (23pts) beat Bonds Glen (2pts) by 44 runs
Ballyspallen 146 (39.4 overs; D Perera 38, J Wilson 29; S Kincaid 4-11, M Barr 2-31)
Bonds Glen 102 (25.3 overs; J Long 24; C McElwee 3-23, Stu Kennedy 2-17, Ste Kennedy 2-20)