Despite the miserable weather, three of the four Premier League matches down for decision yesterday were completed while another was abandoned due to bad light with just 2.5 overs needed for a completion under DLS regs.

Clontarf 103/10 lost to Merrion 83/5 by 5 wickets (DLS)

At Castle Avenue Clontarf were asked to bat first Merrion having won the toss and opting to bowl in a match reduced to 37 overs a side.

The home side got off to a bad start, losing PJ Moor (4) off the last ball of the first over, caught behind off the bowling of Max Neville. Bobbo Forrest (21) characteristically fought back, hitting 5 fours during his brief stay in the middle before being bowled by Neville.

There followed a rich harvest for the Merrion attack S David and Eoghan Delany and Fionn Hand came and went without adding greatly to the joy of the ‘tarf faithful.

Andrew Vincent (14), John McNally (25), and David Vincent (19*)brought the score to 90/7 in the 20th over. The tank was all but empty at that stage and Clontarf ran out of fuel, all out for 103. For Merrion, Amish Sidhu took 4-11, Tom Stanton, 3-24, and Max Neville another 3-24.

Merrion’s reply didn’t have a much better start than that of their hosts, Jack Carty (2) and Stephen Doheny (6) had returned to the tent by the end of the 4th over.

John Anderson (15), Niranjan Shankar (23) and Sean Stanton (20*) brought the score to 83/5 when the weather intervened and the umpires removed the bails, thereby initiating the DLS process, which declared Merrion the winners by 5 wickets.

Malahide 138/7 beat Phoenix 129/6 by 3 wickets (DLS)

This one was reduced to 22 overs each. Malahide won the toss and asked their guests to bat and were very happy to see Phoenix reduced to 25/3 in the 7th over, especially having seen off danger men Jamie Grassi (0) and Tyrone Kane (12).

This, however, brought George Dockrell (69) and Abdullah Tariq (13) to the middle an a sixty partnership stiffened the hearts of the Firebirds faithful. Dockrell fell in the18th over, Aaron Cawley (8) and Stephen Moreton (9*) saw their total to 129/6 in their 22 overs, Dave O’Halloran 2-15, Michael Frost 2-16, and Alistair Frost 2-17 took the wickets for the Villagers.

The pattern of the day continued as the Malahide response took a bit of a hiding, 3 down for 6 in the 3rd over.

Alistair Frost (23) and Fintan McAlister (63) steadied things, bringing the home side within sniffing distance of their goal. Dave O’Halloran added a dozen and then it was down to Jimmy Newland and Michael Frost to see their side home.

A quick conference before the final over, with Malahide on 125/7, was held to determine the exact target. It appeared that the adjusted target for the home team was increased by 12.

Frost contributed 4 off three balls, Newland added another 3 off two balls and then drove the final ball of the match for a maximum to extinguish the fire of the Phoenix.

Pembroke 214/9 beat Leinster 80/5 by 96 runs (DLS)

Pembroke batting first, flexed their considerable muscles in disposing of luckless Leinster at Sydney Parade.

They lost Diarmuid Tucker (6) to an early run-out but after that Scott Ruttle (30), Theo Lawson (46), and Lorcan Tucker (58) went about their business with aplomb, as, aided by Gavin Hoey(20), Barry McCarthy (12) and Paul Lawson (10) they amassed a total of 214/9.

Joey Carroll took 4-17 and Dev Ranolia 3-29 but there wasn’t sufficient support for their fine efforts.

After a few rains stoppages, the Leinster target was reduced to 176 off 27 overs, however, despite the efforts of Aviral Shukla (15), Patrick Lynch (13), Saqib Bahadur (12), and Joey Carroll (25*) this target was out of sight.

When the weather closed in in the 22nd over the DLS verdict was a 96 run win for Pembroke.

The match between The Hills and YMCA was abandoned, due to bad light, with the Skerries side on the cusp of an important victory.

The Hills had made 177/7 off 28 overs. YM had scored 103/6 at the start of the 18th over but cricket in the dark isn’t easy, so with three more overs needed to make it a completed match the bails were removed. A midweek replay will be arranged.

In The Championship Railway Union 157/9 beat County Galway121/10 by 33 runs DLS.

Kevin O’Brien (64*), Liam McCarthy (40), and Kenny Carroll (27).

Mitch Galav took 4-26, Iliff Sumit 2-25 and Danish Ali 2-47.

Four or five of the Galway batters got starts but couldn’t convert them, only Vageesh Shivaprasad (30) looked to stretch the Railway bowlers who shared the spoils among them; Stuart de Klerk 4-8 led the way, Liam McCarthy 3-28 and Glenn Querl 2-25 al profited from their work.

A Fingal derby at Kenure saw Balbriggan 110/2, beat Rush 109/10.

Neil Rock (32) led the scoring for Rush but only three others could climb to double figures. Dylan Lues 4-23, And Farooq Nasr 2-18, were Balbriggan’s best bowlers.

Balbriggan made short work of the reply; Farooq Nasr (32) Connor Fletcher (31 and Ghanim Dara (39*) seeing them across the line in the 20th over.

On the magic carpet at Terenure North County put their recent woes behind them with a 92 run DLS win over their hosts. Jonno Andrews (65) John Mooney (63), Andrew Sheridan (51) and Niall McGovern (45) did enough to dishearten the Terenure men, for whom Bhavic Tukrel 3-68 and Zubair Khan (2-57, bowled bravely.

A poor start which saw them down 3 for 13 was followed by a fine showing by the Terenure middle order; Liam Harris (51) Zubair Khan (26), and Sadiq Safi (27*), together with Tukrel (19) were the best as they mustered 181/9 in their reduced allocation of overs.