Waringstown opened up a 12-point lead in the Premiership title race after beating nearest rivals North Down by 25 runs at The Lawn in their rearranged T20 match.

James McCollum h(31) it six boundaries to get them off to a fast start, which was built upon by a thrid wicket stand of 70 between Andre Malan (50) and Greg Thompson (29).

Three wickets for Ryan Haire (3-26) and two for younger brother Andrew (2-22) got the Comber side back into the contest, but home skipper Lee Nelson clubbed 3 fours and 2 sixes in a hard-hit 33 from just 15 balls got them up to 174 for 7.

North Down went at the chase hard, with Ani Chore (19), Gayan Maneeshan (26) and Ally Shields (36) all in the runs.

Greg Thompson (3-30) and Kyle McCallan (2-21) swung the game firmly in Waringstown's direction, but Ryan Haire was still in the middle.

The former Irish international left-hander cleared the ropes four times as he raced to 48, but with 25 needed from 14 balls, he ran out of partners, as Graham Hume claimed his second wicket in the 25-run win.

With their superior run rate, two wins should be enough from their final four games for Waringstown to win the league.

In Sunday's other game, Lisburn's woes continued as they were beaten by CIYMS by 36 runs at Belmont.

John Matchett hit 7 sixes in his 78 from 50 balls, sharing an opening stand of 113 with Chris Dougherty (34).

Their total of 183 for 5 looked an imposing one, and even more so after Graham Kennedy took 4 for 11 as they slumped to 44 for 6.

Matthew Humphreys (52) and Matthew Berry (34) staged a rally, but in truth it was all academic as they finished on 147 for 8.

In Section One, Jamie Rogers hit 59 not out as Armagh beat Muckamore by six wickets to move to fourth in the table.


Waringstown (4) beat North Down (0) by 25 runs
Waringstown 174-7 (20.0 overs, A Malan 50, J McCollum 31, G Thompson 29, Ryan Haire 3-26, A Haire 2-22)
North Down 149 (17.5 overs, Ryan Haire 48*, A Shields 36, G Maneeshan 25, G Thompson 3-30, K McCallan 2-21, G Hume 2-26)

CIYMS (4) beat Lisburn (0) by 36 runs
CIYMS 183-5 (20.0 overs, J Matchett 78, C Dougherty 34, D Simpson 2-32)
Lisburn 147-8 (20.0 overs, M Humphreys 52, M Berry 34, G Kennedy 4-11, J Mulder 2-13)

Armagh (4) beat Muckamore (0) by 6 wickets
Muckamore 154-7 (20.0 overs, E Wilson 56, L Allen 42, M Hoey 2-23)
Armagh 159-4 (19.2 overs, J Rogers 59*, A Hoey 44)