After widespread criticism of the conditions of the square at the European Women’s World T20 qualifier in La Manga last week, the ICC have taken the decision to move the upcoming Under-19 qualifier away from La Manga to the Desert Springs complex in Almeria.

The ICC made the announcement in a short statement on their Twitter account, stating that the decision had been made “following consultation with ground staff and ICC pitch consultants”.

The dates and tournament format will remain the same, with a four team round robin starting on the 19th leading to a final on the 25th. The four teams involved will be Ireland, Jersey, Scotland and the Netherlands.