There was great success for the Leinster region in the Cricket Ireland awards.

There was an international award for Kim Garth, interpro honours for Simi Singh and Laura Delany, Hall of Fame inductions for Jimmy Boucher and Catriona Beggs, John Anderson wins club prize, while Brian O'Rourke was honoured for his incredible coaching efforts.

Kim Garth was the International Women Player of the Decade.

Kim debuted at 14 years of age, and finished the decade with the highest batting average by an Irish player in T20Is, and the best bowling average over the past decade in ODIs for Ireland Women.

With the ball, she’s not only a wicket-taker, but economical too. She was named as the standout player in the Irish team by the ICC at the T20 World Cup in 2018, was one of the six players awarded a professional contract in 2019, and finished that year as the leading run-scorer for Ireland in the T20 World Cup Qualifier.

She has also extensive WBBL experience with two winners medals with Sydney Sixers.

Simi Singh picked up the  Inter-Provincial Player of the Year Award. It would have been a surprise if he hadn't - such was the dominance of his stats, there was no other challenger put forward by the Unions!

Simi had an excellent season at inter-provincial level, showing his significant all-round value.


In the IP50 competition Simi scored 104 runs at a strike rate of 104, and took 10 wickets, topping the averages at 13.70 per wicket. He took a wicket every 20 balls and had an economy rate of just over 4 runs per over.

In the IP20 competition, Simi was never dismissed and scored 64 runs at a strike rate of 108.47, while also being leading wicket taker in the competition with 8 wickets at an average of 6.62.

Laura Delany made it a double success for the region as she collected the Super Series Player of the Year.

Laura had an excellent season at Super Series level captaining the Typhoons to their first-ever title win.

She was the highest ranked Typhoons batter, scoring 219 runs at an average of 43.80 with a strike rate of 74.2 and 2 half centuries; and claimed 7 wickets at an average of 22.29 with an economy of 3.39 - consistently taking wickets at crucial times, whilst being extremely economical.

Merrion's John Anderson was named the Club Player of the Yeat.

He had an excellent season, playing in all six matches of the Merrion campaign, scoring 364 runs over 6 innings, with one not out.

His average of 72.8 was twenty runs higher than the next challenger. He passed the half-century mark on no fewer than four occasions, with his highest score of 81 coming against North Kildare at The Maws. His other two scores were 49 and 23.

There were few more popular winners than Brían O’Rourke who was awarded the Outstanding Contribution to Coaching.

Brían is an Irish coaching legend and has been instrumental in the growth and development of countless inter-provincial and international cricketers over the past 25 years.

He has fulfilled a variety of roles since 1995, coaching Ireland teams from Under-15 through to Under-19 level, taking charge of Under-19 World Cup campaigns in Bangladesh, Sri Lanka and Malaysia.

Brían has also been heavily involved at inter-provincial level, leading Leinster Under 15's at every tournament since 1997 enjoying an unprecedented and unrivalled level of success over that period.

Leinster legend Jimmy Boucher and Irish Women international Catriona Beggs were inducted by the Cricket Writers of Ireland into the Hall of Fame.

You can read more about their exploits here: