Leinster Lightning will start their defence of the 50-overs Interprovincial Cup against the North West Warriors on Saturday May 1st at Sydney Parade.

It’s one of six fixture changes announced by Cricket Ireland in an attempt to ensure their international players have some game time under their belts ahead of their three World Cup Super League games in The Netherlands at the start of June.

Domestic cricket in Leinster is thought unlikely to resume in May, unless there is a major u-turn by the Southern government.

Lightning have won the 50-overs format seven times in succession since being pipped by the Northern Knights in the inaugural event back in 2013.

Leinster Lightning have dominated the interprovincial series

Lightning’s extra games in May also sees them traveling to Comber to take on the Northern Knights on Sunday May 16th, and down to Cork to play Munster Reds on May 22nd.

The other extra fixture in May has the Warriors hosting the Knights the day before on Friday May 21st, while Munster make the trek northwards to face the Knights on June 10th.

The final fixture in the 50-over Cup has Munster Reds hosting the Warriors on June 15th.

While there is no first-class Championship in 2021, there are three T20 Festivals planned, with Pembroke hosting the first from June 18-20, then Bready the following week. The NCU will host the final one from September 17-19.

The competition has been revamped this season with Cricket Ireland allocating 12 players to each squad in an attempt to end Lightning's dominance which has seen them win 19 of the 23 trophies on offer.


  • *May 1: Leinster Lightning v North West Warriors (Sydney Parade, Dublin)
  • May 4: Leinster Lightning v Northern Knights (Sydney Parade, Dublin)
  • May 6: North West Warriors v Munster Reds (Eglinton)
  • *May 16: Northern Knights v Leinster Lightning (Comber, North Down)
  • May 18: Northern Knights v North West Warriors (Stormont, Belfast)
  • May 20: Leinster Lightning v Munster Reds (Sydney Parade, Dublin)
  • *May 21: North West Warriors v Northern Knights (Bready)
  • *May 22: Munster Reds v Leinster Lightning (The Mardyke, Cork)
  • May 25: North West Warriors v Leinster Lightning (Eglinton)
  • May 27: Munster Reds v Northern Knights (Mardyke, Cork)
  • *June 10: Northern Knights v Munster Reds (Stormont, Belfast)
  • *June 15 Munster Reds v North West Warriors (The Mardyke, Munster)

*Changed from original date.