It's a new dawn for NW cricket with Head Coach Gary Wilson naming his first squad ahead of the season opener against defending champions Leinster Lightning this weekend.

All-rounder Stuart Thompson and William McClintock are the two players added to the core squad, while Coleraine wicket-keeper Will Smale misses out due to university commitments.

In line for their Warriors debuts are Irish international Shane Getkate and Merrion wicket-keeper batsman Stephen Doheny who moved to the Warriors last month under the new franchise system.

Andy McBrine gets Championship trophy from Aideen Rice

Just five players will be plying their trade in the NW this year after Graham Hume and Graham Kennedy followed in the footsteps of Boyd Rankin and Craig Young by moving to the NCU.

On the plus side, Nathan McGuire has joined Glendermott on loan from Rush and he will be hoping for a run-filled campaign.

The bowling unit looks very strong, with Bready's Conor Olphert joining with Young, Rankin, Hume, Getkate, McClintock and Thompson in  the seam bowling department.

McBrine will lead the off-spinners along with McGuire, while also having left-arm options in Ross Allen and Graham Kennedy, who has made the switch from medium pace.

Stephen Doheny will wear the keeping gloves, while assistant coach William Porterfield will be an experienced presence in the Warriors ranks.

Andy McBrine dons the skipper's armband once again as he begins his ninth year at the helm, and will be hoping that he can lift a third trophy in 2021.

Action at Sydney Parade on Saturday gets under way at 10:45am with CricketEurope live-scoring the game on their ball-by-ball service.

Warriors Squad:

Andy McBrine (capt) Donemana, Ross Allen (Brigade), Stephen Doheny (Merrion), Shane Getkate (Instonians), Graham Hume (Waringstown), Graham Kennedy (CIYMS), William McClintock (Donemana), Nathan McGuire (Glendermott), Conor Olphert (Bready), William Porterfield (Formby), Boyd Rankin (Lisburn), Stuart Thompson (CSNI), Craig Young (North Down).