Matthew Foster and John Matchett have been named in the MTB Northern Knights squad for their 50-over interpro Cup clash against Leinster Lightning.

David Delany and James Cameron-Dow are missing from the core group, with the Clontarf paceman still working his way back to full fitness following knee surgery, while CIYMS left-arm spinner Cameron-Dow left out for tactical reasons.

Matthew Foster bowling for the Knights

CSNI seamer Matthew Foster has made six appearances in the interprovincial series following his debut in 2019. The 21 year-old has been in impressive form in early season displays for both Cardiff UCCE and Somerset’s 2nd XI and that has seen him get the nod over Josh Manley.

There's a recall for CIYMS opening batsman John Matchett, who has played four times for the Knights, the last of which was in 2018.

It's a first appearance in the 50-over competition for the 23 year-old, preferred to Marc Ellison who has been Head Coach Simon Johnston's choice over the past few years.

John Matchett has made four appearances for the Knights

New captain  Harry Tector is one of five Irish internationals in the squad, alongside talismanic opener Paul Stirling, the enigmatic Mark Adair, all-rounder Graeme McCarter and Waringstown batsman James McCollum.

There are three debutants in line for their first caps, the most exciting of which is Irish passport holding New Zealand all-rounder Luke Georgeson, who is playing this season for CSNI.

He's been joined at Stormont by former Ireland Wolves leg-spinner Ben White, who has moved to the NCU from Phoenix, as has former Glamorgan all-rounder Jeremy Lawlor, who also featured on the recent Wolves tour to Bangladesh.

“It’s great to have inter-provincial cricket back up and running," said Head Coach Johnston on the eve of the battle.

“The guys worked hard over the winter and in pre-season to ensure that they are ready to go come the first ball tomorrow.

“There are a few new faces in the squad this year and I have no doubt that they’ll be itching to show what they’re made of.”

Leinster Lightning have named an unchanged squad from their six-wicket win against North West Warriors at the weekend.

Action at Sydney Parade gets under way at 10:45am and Ian Callender will be there to provide ball-by-ball commentary on CricketEurope.

Northern Knights Squad

  • Harry Tector (capt), (YMCA) 
  • Mark Adair (CIYMS)
  • Matthew Foster (CSNI)
  • Luke Georgeson, (CSNI)
  • Jeremy Lawlor (Carrickfergus)
  • John Matchett (CIYMS)
  • Graeme McCarter (Carrickfergus)
  • James McCollum (Waringstown)
  • Ruhan Pretorius (Woodvale)
  • Neil Rock (Carrickfergus/Rush)
  • Paul Stirling (North Down)
  • Ben White (CSNI)