Leinster Lightning will be cup champions for the eighth year in succession if they beat the NW Warriors in Eglinton on Tuesday.

The runs of George Dockrell (297 at 148.50) and the wickets of Barry McCarthy (16 wkts at 10.75) have propelled the Dubliners to the brink of yet another trophy, despite being handicapped by the transfer of three of their internationals to Munster Reds.

Head Coach Nigel Jones was pleased with the reaction to his players to a rare lapse in the format, having lost to a Paul Stirling inspired Northern Knights at Comber.

Barry McCarthy

“The response in our two opportunities against Munster, albeit with one no result, was very good. We were in a strong position in the washed-out game and then to put the performance in again on Saturday, which wasn’t perfect, but again there was lots of positives to take from it.

“It’s all about learning every opportunity we get. When we take the park, we need to make sure we bring the good stuff with us and then with anything we need to work on, we’re brutally honest in identifying those and where we need to do to improve.

“Tomorrow will be a fresh challenge. It’s all to play for and the boys are looking forward to the opportunity. If we can manage to bring everything together in the game that we’ve been working on, then I’ve no doubt we’ll be in a pretty good position and hopefully on the right side of the result.”

Seven of the squad were named in Ireland's 15 for the World Cup Super League in Holland next week, with Malahide duo David O'Halloran and Peter Chase among the reserves.

Leinster Lightning Squad

  • George Dockrell (capt) – Phoenix
  • Lorcan Tucker (v/c) – Pembroke
  • Andrew Balbirnie – Pembroke
  • Peter Chase – Malahide
  • Jamie Grassi – Phoenix
  • Josh Little – Pembroke
  • Barry McCarthy – Pembroke
  • Kevin O’Brien – Railway Union
  • David O’Halloran – Malahide
  • Simi Singh – YMCA
  • Jack Tector – YMCA
  • Tim Tector – YMCA