Like two heavyweight boxers, Carrick and CSNI fought it out for the right to be crowned Lagan Valley Steels T20 champions.

They matched each other blow for blow as boundaries flowed on a true, quick track, aided by a lightning fast outfield.

There were superb exhibitions of strokeplay and brutal hitting on both sides as the bowling units suffered as the blows kept coming.

Carrick batted first after winning the toss and their South African professional Jacques Snyman set the tone with a hard hit 79 from just 32 balls (6 fours, 7 sixes) adding 117 in 57 balls with Jeremy Lawlor.

Man of the Match Jacques Snyman

If the beleaguered Stormont attack thought things would ease after Snyman's departure, they were wrong as Lawlor and Neil Rock continued their boundary barrage.

They added 89 in six overs with Lawlor finishing on 91 not out from 62 deliveries (9 fours, 3 sixes), while Rock's 39 from 17 balls saw him clear the ropes three times as well as two boundaries.

CJ van der Walt made 15, as had Carrick skipper Michael Gilmour earlier in their total of 254 for 3 - unsurprisingly a record for the final. North Down 207 for 3 in 2006 the previous best.

None of the bowlers were in a hurry to check their analyses at the innings break - for the record Ross Adair (2-34) was the best amidst the carnage.

Gary Wilson had been forced off the field with a hamstring injury, but opted to bat with Stuart Thompson as a runner.

Saturday's centurion was clearly hampered and the gamble failed, bowled by Snyman for a single in the second over.

Carrick at that stage were bubbly, noisy and confident, but in the next 45 minutes the mood changed as Irish passport holding Kiwi Luke Georgeson showed just why Ireland are so keen for him to settle here.

The left-hander unleashed his full repertoire of attacking shots, mixing cuts and drives with savage power, dispatching anything remotely off-line.

He and Ross Adair (45) had CSNI ahead of the required rate as they added 115 in 56 balls, before wily veteran Ryan Eagleson (2-26) trapped Adair in front to end the stand and settle the nerves.

Winners Carrickfergus

Georgeson though was the wicket they knew they needed, and when he had reached 93 from 45 balls (8 fours, 7 sixes) he miscued an attempted big hit off Neil Gill and was easily pouched at point. The roar of relief from the crowd and the Carrick team let you know just how much it meant.

Stuart Thompson (21) hit a few lusty blows, but it was too little, too late as CSNI ended on 211 for 7.

Jacques Snyman pipped Jeremy Lawlor and Luke Georgeson for the MOM Award, while Carrickfergus stand-in skipper Iain Parkhill  (Michael Gilmour was off having his shoulder x-rayed) collected the trophy from sponsor Tommy Anderson and NCU President Roger Bell.

A great advertisement for local cricket - 465 runs in 40 overs, 26 sixes, 35 fours, plus sunshine.

Congratulations Carrick on their first NCU T20 win - it may not be the last trophy they collect this year.