The second round of matches in the Leinster Senior League Cup have, in a couple of the groups, thrown a certain amount of light on who might or might not progress to the semi-finals. There are four groups of four and after the sides have played each other twice, the group winners will be the semi-finalists.

In Group A, Championship side, Rush, 163/8, have set out their stall with a second win, beating Terenure, 136/7, by 27 runs. A Man of the Match 68 by Neil (Pebbles) Rock, assisted by 45 from Jack McGee were the foundation of a total which ‘nure were never in the hunt to match though Donal Lynch (36) and Mick Cotter (21) tried hard, but Terenure remain winless.

In the same group, at Observatory Lane, Leinster CC sprang what might be described as the shock of the day by beating the mighty YMCA in a low scoring game, by 26 runs. Leinster 99/10 then bowled out the Y for just 73. Dev Ranolia (28) top scored for the winners while Jack Tector (28) mirrored that. This leaves YM and Leinster with one win and one loss each.

In Group B, Clontarf (151/3), led by Eoghan Delaney (52) and Bobbo Forrest (33) set up a second win by seeing off Malahide (124/9) at Malahide. Fintan McAllister (31) top scored for the Villagers.

Also in Group B, Railway Union (140/3) inflicted a 7 wicket defeat on Cork County (136/10). Kenny Carroll (35) and Glenn Querl (33) were the main scorers for Railway while Rudolph Pollard (37) and Abubakar Saddique (32) battled hard against the odds. As a very important side bar, his score of 35 brought Kenny Carroll to a landmark 10,000 runs in senior cricket.

Group C saw Balbriggan (139/6) gain their first win as they came home from North Kildare (120/7) with a 19 run win over the newest of the Leinster senior clubs. Greg Ford (44) was best bat for the winners, while Monil Patel (60) impressed for the Kildare side who have yet to taste victory.

The other Group C encounter saw a clash of the titans when Merrion (134/8) went to Sydney Parade to take on Pembroke (138/4) only to be beaten by 6 wickets. Diarmuid Tucker (26), JJ Garth (25), and Rob Kelly (24) formed the backbone of the winners total and Mike Lewis (36) and John Anderson (34) were best for Merrion who have won one and lost won, while Pembroke remain unbeaten.

Group D, saw North County journey to College Park to take on last week’s surprise package, Dublin University. “It was a damned close-run thing” to quote the Duke of Wellington, as County squeezed through by a single run. North County 97/10 beat DUCC 96/9 by one run, leaving both sides with a balanced, one win one loss record.

The other Group D encounter took The Hills to The Park to see if they could build a streak by beating last week’s surprise losers, Phoenix. The home side were set an example by their newly acquired Ireland player, Tyrone Kane who scored a scintillating 82 off 40 balls but, unfortunately, for the Firebirds, nobody else could offer much support and they ran out of steam on 137/6. In reply The Hills worked calmly to achieve their target in the 17th over with 138/2, Levon Shields (42), Murray Commins (37), and Mark Donegan (37) saw The Hills home to a second successive victory.

League Cup A
Terenure lost to Rush by 27 runs.
12 June, Terenure.
Rush 163-8 (20 overs) N Rock 68, J McGee 45; B Tukrel 3-22, Zubair Khan 2-34
Terenure 136-7 (20 overs) D Lynch 36; A Abbasi 3-20, A Doheny 3-37
League Cup A
YMCA lost to Leinster by 26 runs.
12 June, Rathmines.
Leinster 99 (20 overs) D Raniola 28; R Gamble 2-10, C McDonnell 2-20, M O'Reilly 2-24
YMCA 73 (18.4 overs) J Tector 28; A Shukla 3-8, S Bahadur 2-17, D Raniola 2-17
League Cup B
Railway Union beat Cork County by 7 wickets.
12 June, Park Avenue.
Cork County 136 (19.5 overs) R Pollard 37, A Saddique 32; G Querl 5-13, E Barron 3-15
Railway Union 140-3 (18.2 overs) H Sultan 52*, K Carroll 35, G Querl 33*; N Anjum 2-19
League Cup B
Malahide lost to Clontarf by 27 runs.
12 June, Malahide.
Clontarf 151-3 (20 overs) E Delany 52*, R Forrest 33, P Moor 30, A Poynter 26*
Malahide 124-9 (20 overs) F McAllister 31; M Granger 3-22, D Delany 2-17
League Cup C
North Kildare lost to Balbriggan by 19 runs.
12 June, The Maws.
Balbriggan 139-6 (20 overs) G Ford 44, NRooney 27, C de Freitas 26; J Smith 2-20
North Kildare 120-7 (20 overs) M Patel 60, J Uddin 28; C Davies-Webb 2-12, C de Freitas 2-23
League Cup C
Pembroke beat Merrion by 6 wickets.
12 June, Sydney Parade.
Merrion 134-8 (20 overs) M Lewis 36, J Anderson 34; S Ruttle 2-10, P Morris 2-21
Pembroke 138-4 (17 overs) D Tucker 26, J Garth 25*
League Cup D
Dublin University lost to North County by 1 run.
12 June, College Park.
North County 97 (20 overs) J Andrews 26; S Streek 3-14, G Hoey 2-16, J Walsh 2-23
Dublin University 96-8 (20 overs) D Cosgrave 33, M Hogan 28; J Mooney 3-16, E Richardson 2-19
League Cup D
Phoenix lost to The Hills by 8 wickets.
12 June, Phoenix Park.
Phoenix 137-6 (20 overs) T Kane 82; S Dutt 2-15
The Hills 138-2 (16 overs) L Shields 42, M Commins 37*, M Donegan 37*