Donemana skipper William McClintock launched the new 40-over League in sensational fashion with an innings of 195 - from No 5 in the order!

Coming to the middle at 18 for three, McClintock immediately took centre stage, forcing the hapless Coleraine bowlers into submission.

The visitors probably thought they were well in the game when they claimed three more wickets to reduce Donemana to 132 for six but big-hitting Dwayne McGerrigle and McClintock then added 190 in 16.3 overs, before the captain fell five runs short of a remarkable double century.

McClintock faced 101 balls, hitting 21 of them for six to add to his 12 fours. McGerrigle was no slouch either, hitting seven sixes and four fours from 47 balls and, credit to Coleraine, they still managed to bowl out Donemana in the final over, albeit with a mammoth 342 on the board.

The Bannsiders never threatened to get close, with Stephen Hutchinson their top scorer with 34 and Jordan McGonigle helping himself to five wickets as Donemana completed a crushing 167 runs victory.

Brigade, the defending champions from 2019, suffered a shock 59 runs defeat by Bready at Magheramason, despite Kyle Magee top scoring in the game with 38 for the visitors.

But, he received little help from his team-mates – only two others reached double figures - as Brigade were bowled out for 111 with Steve Lazars taking three wickets.

Ross Allen, who has lost his place in the North West Warriors squad for Tuesday’s inter-provincial against Munster Reds in Cork, and Ryan Barr also took three wickets for Brigade.

Ardmore, St Johnston and Strabane were the other Group A winners with Ardmore in a particular hurry, passing Bonds Glen’s respectable 209 for four inside 25 overs. Peter Harrigan's century outdoing that of Raymond Curry's.

St Johnston also made an impressive start, reaching their target of 173, set by Fox Lodge, with an over to spare, Ian McBeth seeing them home with 65 not out.

Strabane dismissed Glendermott for 122 and with Aaron Gillespie scoring 40 not out, the Red Caps eased home in the 19th over.

Donemana will be the team to beat in Group B but Newbuildings and Eglinton also started with maximum points for 10-wicket wins.

Johnny Thompson took four wickets for Newbuildings as they bowled out Killyclooney for 108 and openers Mark Hanna and Gareth McKeegan knocked off the runs in the 13th over and although Eglinton dismissed Burndennett for 89, Craig Averill and Tommy Orr were more sedate in Eglinton’s chase, using up 22.4 overs to claim the victory.

Ardmore’s Jarred Wilson is the one new face in the Warriors squad. Wilson has been training with the squad for several weeks now and his namesake, head coach Gary Wilson is keen for some of the new faces to get experience of the match-day experience at inter-provincial level.

Wilson replaces the injured Conor Olphert and Varun Chopra is recalled in place of Allen. Stuart Thompson is unavailable for the game and the travelling panel has been reduced to 12 although he is set to return for the next weekend’s opening T20 Festival in Pembroke.