Peter Chase misses the T20 Festival through injury and looks set for a long spell on the sidelines, while Jack Tector is left out of the 12-man Leinster Lightning squad for the three days.

Peter Chase has been struggling with his achilles and heel over the last eighteen months and has visited a specialist.

Peter Chase

Rory Anders and JJ Garth are drafted in for the three-day Festival.

“As you’d expect with Jack, he understands the situation and he’s very aware that he has to go away, and score runs to put his hand back up for selection," said Lightning Head Coach Nigel Jones.

"Opportunities are there to be taken but doors are never shut on anyone.

“We’ve a nice mix of young, hungry talent with some senior pros and I’m hoping that we get to see a blend of both performing and stamping their name on a game of cricket this weekend.”

The absence of Chase provides an opportunity for his Malahide team-mate David O'Halloran and skipper George Dockrell is backing the young paceman to impress.

“Davey O’Halloran has been so impressive with the one-day stuff. Now, with Chaser (Peter Chase) absent, he’ll have an opportunity to take on a little bit more responsibility which I’m really looking forward to seeing," said Dockrell.

“Then in the batters, with a couple of the young guys, we’re kind of fighting for spots, it’ll be nice to see how they go and to see them put their hands up.

“It’s going to be a great weekend, our first game in front of a crowd, which is fantastic. We’ve been waiting a long time for that. It’ll be nice to have a good atmosphere down at the wall in Pembroke.

“We’re raring to go and can’t wait to get into it and hopefully we can start off our campaign with some wins.”

Leinster Lightning play the opening game of the festival at 11am each day at Pembroke, facing the Munster Reds on Friday, the Northern Knights on Saturday and finishing up against the North West Warriors on Sunday June 20th.

Leinster Lightning Squad

  • George Dockrell (capt) – Phoenix
  • Lorcan Tucker (v/c) – Pembroke
  • Rory Anders – YMCA
  • Andrew Balbirnie – Pembroke
  • JJ Garth – Pembroke
  • Jamie Grassi – Phoenix
  • Josh Little – Pembroke
  • Barry McCarthy – Pembroke
  • Kevin O’Brien – Railway Union
  • David O’Halloran – Malahide
  • Simi Singh – YMCA
  •  Tim Tector – YMCA