The Interprovincial T20 Festival affected many Leinster sides on Saturday with so many sides contributing to the team-sheets of all the provinces, leading to a few strange looking results, but that’s the cost clubs have to pay for developing players to Provincial and National standard. These anomalies will, in all probability, iron themselves out over the second half of the tournament.

In Section A, Rush fell to their first defeat, losing to YMCA at Kenure, with both sides contributing heavily to various provincial outfits;

Rush 99/10 lost to YMCA 101/3 by & wickets. Andrew Blair White (37), Jack Tector (25) and Bobby Gamble (24) led the way for YM while Etesham Ahmed (18) and Conor McGuire (17) top scored for Rush. Both sides now have 2/1 records.

Also in Section A, Leinster 106/1 beat Terenure 101/7 by 9 wickets at Observatory Lane. Joey Carroll (47) and Aviral Shukla (30) for Leinster. Donal Lynch (28) for Terenure. Dev Ranolia took 2/14 for the home side. Leinster 2/1 and Terenure 0/3.

In Section B, Malahide suffered their third home defeat losing to Cork County by 5 runs despite four wickets for Callum Riches. Abubakr Saddique (33) and Joubert Pienaar (30) for Cork while Arjun Muntha (29) was best for the Villagers. Rudolph Pollard took 4/19 for the Cork side.

Also in Section B, Railway Union 144/4, continued their fine run beating Clontarf 135/4 by 9 runs. The evergreen Kenny Carroll showed that he still has what it takes with a fine 70, while Bobbo Forrest top scored for ‘tarf with 34.

Section C John Anderson just missed out on another century as he top scored with 93 from 57 balls – hitting 9 fours and 5 sixes as Merrion made 175 for 7 against North Kildare – runs too for Ed Joyce and Max Sorensen who made 20s.

James Hitchcock then took five wickets and skipper Tom Stanton two as Kildare were dismissed for just 73 – Merrion 102 run winners, who now stand with a 2/1 record while North Kildare remain winless.

Pembroke won at Balbriggan in a game that was decided on DLS after a home side fielder collided with a sightscreen and was taken to hospital.

For Balbriggan Chris De Freitas had made 50 out of 129 for 6 – three wickets for Patrick Morris.

De Feitas then took 3 for 16 as Pembroke had made 100 for 4 in the 15th over when the game was stopped – 39 for Rob Kelly and 32 for Diarmuid Tucker.

In Section D, Dublin University kept the pot bubbling by scoring a 5 wicket win over The Hills at The Vineyard. Nic Pretorius (54*) showed how much he loves this track, aided by Dave Cosgrave who made 39.

Dylan Blignaut, 51, couldn’t compensate for the aerial style adopted by his teammates as Sam Streek took 3 wickets 20. Both teams now with 2/1 against their names.

In the other Section D encounter North County defeated Phoenix by 7 runs. Eddie Richardson, 34, and Sean Sludds (30) top scored for County with E.Uddin worked hard for his 41 for Phoenix.

We can’t leave this one without a big shout out to Abdul Ghaffar for a super hat-trick, while John Mooney also took 3 for 13 off 4 overs. So now North County join The Hills and DUCC on 2 wins and one loss while Phoenix remain without reward for their labours.

League Cup
YMCA beat Rush by 7 wickets.
19 June, Kenure.
Rush 99 (20 overs) C McDonnell 3-12
YMCA 101-3 (14.3 overs) A Blair White 37, J Tector 25
League Cup
Leinster beat Terenure by 9 wickets.
19 June, Rathmines.
Terenure 101-7 (20 overs) D Lynch 28
Leinster 106-1 (16.2 overs) J Carroll 47*, A Shukla 30*
League Cup
Clontarf lost to Railway Union by 9 runs.
19 June, Castle Avenue.
Railway Union 144-4 (20 overs) K Carroll 70, F Zaman 25
Clontarf 135-4 (20 overs) R Forrest 34, K Ali 27*
League Cup
Malahide lost to Cork County by 5 runs.
19 June, Malahide.
Cork County 137-9 (20 overs) A Saddique 33, J Pienarr 30, S Burra 27; C Riches 4-24
Malahide 132-8 (20 overs) A Muntha 29; R Pollard 4-19
League Cup
Merrion beat North Kildare by 102 runs.
19 June, Anglesea Road.
Merrion 175-7 (20 overs) J Anderson 93, E Joyce 28, M Sorensen 26
North Kildare 73 (12.2 overs) K Sidiqi 26; J Hitchcock 5-8
League Cup
The Hills lost to Dublin University by 5 wickets.
19 June, Milverton.
The Hills 131 (20 overs) D Blignaut 51; J Atkinson 4-28, S Streek 3-20
Dublin University 134-5 (19.5 overs) N Pretorius 54*, D Cosgrave 39