Cork Harlequins won the Munster T20 league in a dramatic final-day shoot out which saw four sides vying for the title.

Leaders Cork County beat Limerick by four wickets, but were pipped to the title by arch rivals Harelquins, whose 54-run win in Galway ensured maximum points.

That meant the two Cork sides were level on points, with the title awarded to Quins by virtue of their win in the head-to-head, as they had beaten County at the Mardyke in the second round.

Cork Harlequins who won the Munster T20 League title

Amidst scenes of great celebrations, the trophy went to Farmers Cross - their first Premiership trophy in almost a decade.

The trophy is a vindication of the youth policy instigated by the club, a long-tern project that is bearing fruit - from little acorns, big oak trees grow,

Club captain Matthew Brewster was understandably delighted at securing the major honour with such a youthful and vibrant squad at his disposal.

"Our club is literally one big family, where we all help out in various ways off and on the pitch so for this to happen is a huge achievement and just reward for putting all the time and effort in over the years," said the 20 year-old with an old head on young shoulders.

"While we have some fantastic coaches at the club, the group drives everything from level of challenge, intensity to what we’re working on and why.

"We mostly use open nets and really get into detail around roles so when the time comes everyone has a good level of clarity."

“There are plenty of members of an older vintage who will enjoy this as much as the players because to say that Quins are Munster T20 Premier League Champions will breadth new life into a club where there’s plenty of it already."

You get the feeling that this is just the beginning for the Farmer's Cross club, rather than the culmination of a journey.

With an average age of 21, there is the basis of a squad for many years to come.

They will now represent Munster it the All-Ireland T20 semi-finals and it's just reward for a club that has invested in a long-term vision.  

Leinster's representative will come from Merrion, Clontarf, North County or YMCA, while the North West final is on July 25th between Brigade and Eglinton. Carrick won the NCU T20 last month.

Rathmines is due to hold the final on the weekend of August 28th.