The game between Burndennett and Coleraine was stopped then abandoned in the 29th over when Eddie McGettigan, who had scored 76 of the home side’s 163 for 3 took ill.

An ambulance was called and the player was taken to hospital for treatment. Thankfully for all concerned McGettigan is responding well to treatment and we wish him a speedy recovery.

Burndennett, it is reported, decided to forfeit the match which means Coleraine will take the fourth and final place in the Premiership from Group B.

Newbuildings were convincing winners against Donemana in a dress rehearsal ahead of next week’s cup clash.

Half centuries from Kyle Dougherty (60) and Dean Mehaffey (56)– who retired hurt on 42, but resumed his innings – helped the visitors make 217 for 9.

There were three wickets for Johnny Thompson (3-19) and Trent McKeegan (3-64) who had set the tone for the game by trapping Jamie Huey lbw first ball of the match.

Ryan Hunter then came back to haunt his former club as he hit 15 fours and 2 sixes in an unbeaten 94 from 97 balls, sharing stands of 90 for the second wicket with Gareth McKeegan, and an unbroken 100 in 11 overs with another Donemana old boy – Johnny Thompson.

‘JT’ completed an excellent all-round display by making an unbeaten 48 from only 30 balls (6 fours, 3 sixes).

Stephen Kennedy was to the fore as Ballyspallen beat Killyclooney by six wickets chasing 202.

Batting first Killyclooney posted 201 with Darren Moan hitting 7 fours and 2 sixes as he top scored with 52 from 47 balls, sharing an opening stand of 84 in 13 overs with Wiliam Finlay who made 41 (4 fours, 3 sixes).

The innings faltered somewhat thereafter with three wickets apiece for James Thompson (3-20) and Kennedy (3-15), who then played a starring role with the bat.

He struck 11 fours and 3 sixes in a hard hit 72 from 61 balls, dominating stands of 46 with fellow opener Andy Christie (6) and 66 for the second with Jacob Logan-Wilson (19).

Damith Perera (35) and Curtis McElwee (33*) added 57 in just six overs to make the result a formality.

In Group A. Brigade’s poor league form continued as they lost to Fox Lodge by 16 runs at Beechgrove.

Again it was two former players who came back to inflict pain on their old clubs as Brian Allen scored a run-a-ball 79 (7 fours, 4 sixes) sharing a fifth wicket stand of 107 in 14 overs with Johnny ‘Bap’ Robinson who hit 8 fours and 2 sixes in his 57 not out as the Foxies made 202 for 7.

Three wickets apiece for Gareth Heywood (3-13) and Adam Walker (3-28) reduced Brigade to 132 for 9, but number 11 Simon Olphert top scored with 36 adding 54 for the last wicket with Ryan Macbeth (26no) before Robinson struck with his last ball to seal the 16-run win.

Brigade progressed to the Premiership after the only unbeaten side in the league, Bready, won by eight wickets against Bonds Glen.

Teenager Raymond Curry scored his second senior hundred of the season, hitting 11 fours and 3 sixes in an unbeaten 105 from 110 balls, but only professional Rehan Afridi (36) offered any serious support as they were all out for 189.

Gregory McFaul took four wickets, while a special word of praise for another teenager, - Bready keeper Ryan Clarke playing just his second match, claiming five catches.

Jamie Magee (2) went early in the reply, but a second wicket stand of 142 in 17 overs between David Rankin and Irosh Samarasooriya settled the hosts.

Rankin hit 13 fours in an unbeaten 78 from 71 balls, while Irosh’s 77 came from just 56 deliveries and included 10 fours and 3 sixes – the eight wickets win coming in the 24th over.

Ardmore’s good season continued as they too made light of a chase, beating Glendermott by eight wickets chasing 222.

Openers Dhram Singh (74) and Rachit Gaur (37) added 123 in 20 overs before both fell within eight balls of each other either side of drinks – two wickets for JJ O’Brien (2-47).

However The Rectory side were hampered by injuries to professional Nauman Anwar and Reece Laird, who both had to leave the field.

A third wicket stand between Tyron Koen (57no) and Mark Chambers (34no) ensured the routine win.

The Glendermott innings was livened up by a savage innings from Tylor Moore who hit 5 sixes and 5 fours in a rapid 56 from 32 balls, while there were runs too for skipper Alan Johnson (37) and Nauman Anwar (31).

Dave Bezzant’s four wickets included the prize scalp of Anwar.

St Johnston won the final game in Group A, as Jack Macbeth's fifty from 44 balls helped them to 195 at Strabane - Tom Harpur taking four wickets for the Red Caps and Rhys Logue three.

Aaron Gillespie's 58 from 57 balls (10 fours, 1 six) looked to make Strabane favourites, but Ian Macbeth's four wickets including three in four balls, swung the momentum back as the Donegal side won by 43 runs.

Sunday’s big game is the Faughan Valley Cup final between hosts Eglinton and Brigade. Action in the village gets under way at 2pm.