Leinster Premier League

Rain interruptions hit Leinster cricket fairly hard on Saturday, resulting in a couple of Duckworth Lewis results.

Pembroke 226/8 (48 overs) tied with Clontarf 202/8 (35 overs). (DLS)

Lorcan Tucker showed his class with a blistering 84* and fraternal assistance from Diarmaid (31) and Fiachra (19), together with Theo Lawson’s 35 and 21 from Jonathan Garth made up the bulk of Pembroke’s total.

Clontarf’s bowling was led by Michael Granger with an economical 2 for 29 off 9 overs while Andre Ryan chipped in with 2 for 44, and Jack McNeice1 for 26. There were three run-outs.

The Clontarf reply, led by Eoghan Delaney (65*) was motoring along nicely with PJ Moor(46) and Andre Ryan (28) and John McNally getting starts though Moor was the only one to follow through.

Gavin Hoey, 2 for 46 and Scott Ruttle, 2 for 45 helped by Paul Lawson and Joe Prendergast with a wicket each along with a couple of run-outs, were holding back the ‘tarf resistance.

In a tense finale, Eoghan Delany got the two required for a share of the spoils on DLS. A great game of cricket.

Phoenix 130, lost to The Hills 132/9 (DLS) (a nail-biter)

Phoenix failed to light any fires and were all out in the 36th over. Skipper Adam Chester (28), returning after a short sabbatical, top scored for the Firebirds but only George Dockrell (21) also passed twenty runs on a sticky enough surface.

The tail attempted to wag as Anish Rana (11), Conor Sheil (13), and Gordon Millar (13), batting at 8, 9, and 10 added a few vital runs to the target.

The Hills captain, Tomás Rooney Murphy, (3 for 32) was backed up by a couple of tyros, Killian McGrane, 2 for 20, and Cian Nulty , 2 for 34. Sameer Dutt and Dylan Blignaut joined the party with a wicket each.

A rain delay meant that the target for The Hills was reduced by two runs. The rain stayed off for the most part, the umpires weren’t frightened by a couple of outbreaks of drizzle, but batting proved to be as difficult for the visitors as it had for the home side.

Dylan Blignaut (37*) Cormac McLoughlin Gavin (21) and Murray Commins(18) were best with the bat, but The Hills will have been grateful for the contribution of 29 wides from their hosts, as well as for Blignaut’s game management towards the end of the innings.

He was joined by Jonathan Tall, who provided the most valuable run despite having to use his bat as a walking aid having tweaked a groin muscle while fielding, Blignaut struck the winning runs off the penultimate ball of the 33rd over for a squeaky win.

Merrion 194/10 (49.2 overs). YMCA 70/2 (12.3 overs)

Jack Carty (59) and Stephen Doheny (60), had given Merrion a solid base and another 21 from Dominick Joyce and 19 by Sean Stanton built on that foundation meant the YM would have to overcome the conditions to have any chance of catching up.

Mitch Thompson (28) and Harry Tector (26) had started the ball rolling but the weather closed in and the match was abandoned before twenty overs had been bowled in the second innings.

Malahide beat Leinster by 4 wickets

Malahide were indebted to a half century from Alistair Frost as they chased down 192 to win by six wickets against Leinster. There were runs too for Callum Riches (36) and Alan Reynolds (35).

JP O'Dwyer top scored for the Rathmines side with 57, while James Newland captured three wickets and Davy O'Halloran two in the Leinster innings.

Leinster Championship

County Galway 181/8 lost to Terenure 182/4 by 6 wickets

The westerners put up a decent show, batting right down the order as they set a defensible target for Terenure. Mitch Galav (40), Subramanya Ramnathpur (36) and Shariq Nasim (26) were the main contributors, while Sadiq Safi topped the bowling for ‘nure with 3 for 36, helped by Bhavic Tukrel 2 for 10.

Seamus Lynch (105*) showed why he is being watched by provincial selectors and Dan Wicks (19) and Donal Lynch (17) were the chief subscribers to the erenure total.

North Kildare 228/10 beat North County 77/10, by 151 runs.

This one has to count as the day’s big shock.

Only John Mooney (34), Sean Sludds (12), and Salman Aziz (10) got into double figures as Ireland Under 19 star Muzamil Sherzad ripped through the County defences with 6 wickets for just 24 runs.

Manjeet Singh (2/5) Monil Patel (1/4) and Wasif Ali (1/38) weighed in on the destruction.

Earlier, Monil Patel (78), Waqar Azmat (35) and Abdul Aryan (26) had been the main benefactors to the Kildare cause. Eddie Richardson (2/30) Andrew Sheridan (2/40) Sean Sludds 2/36) and Cian Mulvaney (2/41) battled hard for County but their efforts proved to be in vain.

Cork County 133/10, lost to Rush 134/3 by 7 wickets

Benjamin Marris (31) and Alex Gasper (27) were Cork’s best batters as they tried to stem the flow of wickets with the Rush bowlers, led by Daniel Coffey with 6 wickets for 23, fairly tore the southerners apart to ensure that their batters didn’t have too big a job.

Neil Rock’s 56* off 21 balls included 6 fours and 4 sixes after Nathan McGuire (37) and Finn McGee (27) did enough to see the Rush men home in 15 overs.

Balbriggan 190/10 lost to Railway Union 193/9, by 1 wicket

Connor Fletcher (71) was well supported by Farooq Nasr (41) and Ghanim Dara (27) as Balbriggan put together a good enough score to make the Railway workers think about the job facing them.

Mark Canniffe (4/15) and Liam McCarthy (3/24) kept the score from getting away. In reply, Prabanshu Kamal (49), Phillippe leRoux (40) and Hashir Sultan (20), together with bits and pieces from everyone else saw the the Railway train to its terminus with just three balls to spare.