Bready are just two wins away from another Premiership title after a total demolition of young pretenders Newbuildings.

In a rain delayed match, the toss was crucial and Bready skipper Davy Scanlon had little hesitation in inserting their hosts.

Conor Olphert (3-26) , recently returned from injury, struck three early blows, and with in-form professional Irosh Samrasooriya taking 4 for 12, and Steve Lazars 2-7, Newbuildings were bundled out for 67.

Davy Rankin and Irosh

Gavin Roulston went cheaply in the chase, but Davy Rankin’s 35 not out eased the Magheramason side to an eight wicket win in the 12th over.

Bready have two tricky matches left against Donemana and Eglinton, but two wins will ensure the Premiership crown.

Eglinton got just past the halfway mark in their home clash with Ardmore before a deluge saw the contest abandoned with the match intriguingly poised.

A third wicket stand of 102 in 20 overs between Peter Harrigan, who top scored with 70 from 96 balls (8 fours, 1 six) and professional Tyron Keon (41) put Ardmore on top, before two wickets apiece for Andy Millar, Mark Averill and Stephen Dunn restricted them to 198 for 6.

Koen removed Robbie Millar early, but Scott Laird (19*) and Tommy Orr (13*) were rebuilding nicely before the elements intervened.

Fox Lodge were in complete disarray at Coleraine, being at various stages 1 for 4, 6 for 5 and 38 for 8, before a last wicket stand of 30 between Jamie McIntyre (22*) and Gareth Heywood (17) saw them post 76.

There were three wickets apiece for captain Stephen Hutchinson, James Bell and Gareth Burns.

Scott Campbell’s 35 looked to be easing the Bannsiders to a routine win at 33 for 0, but the spinning triumvirate of Johnny Robinson, Adam Boyd and Aaron Heywood saw seven wickets fall before they fell over the line.

The Donemana versus Brigade game was called off as was Burndennett v Bonds Glen in the Championship.

Nauman Anwar was the batting story of the day at The Rectory as he thumped 14 fours and 11 sixes in his 137 as Glendermott chased a DLS revised 218 to beat Killyclooney by seven wickets with ten overs to spare.

Nauman Anwar

Fifties for Timmy Dougherty (77) and Derek Lynch helped Killyclooney to 212 for 4, but Anwar was a man in a hurry as he hit 9 fours and 2 sixes to reach his half century from 17 balls, dominating an opening stand of 70 with Todd Killen who made two!

He reached his century from 44 deliveries, and shared an entertaining stand of 87 in seven overs with Scott Laird, who matched him blow for blow as he hit 5 fours and 3 sixes in his 43.

By the time Anwar was dismissed, the contest was as good as over, and the win keeps the Rectory side in contention for the title in second place behind leaders St Johnston.

The leaders had 58 runs to spare over challengers Ballyspallen in a 32 overs game in Donegal.

Skipper David Lapsley top scored with 30 , while Matthew Orr (27*) again contributed late runs down the order as they posted 155 for 8 - two wickets each for Stephen Kennedy, Josh Wilson and Jacob Logan-Wilson.

In form Stephen Kennedy made 38, but David Anthony took four wickets, with Michael Rankin, Ian Macbeth and Scott Macbeth two apiece as ‘Spallen were bowled out for 97.

The Championship title is bubbling along nicely, with points in the bag for St Johnston meaning they will fancy their chances of adding further silverware to the Sperrin Springs cup won last week.