Craig Young has been ruled out of the North West Warriors squad for the final festival weekend.

The North Down seamer has a groin strain which ruled him out of Monday's win against Zimbabwe.

Craig Young

The North West Warriors will be hoping to win the Interprovincial T20 Cup for the second time since the competition was reintroduced back in 2013.

Andy McBrineís side are the current leaders going into the final festival weekend, which gets underway on Friday at North Down.

McBrine is in good form, having won the Man of the Match Award in Irelandís win against Zimbabwe this week, while former Donemana player William Porterfield was named Player of the Series.

William McClintock, who played three times in the T20 series against Zimbabwe, will be motivated to show the selectors the error of their ways after he was left out of the T20 World Cup squad.

Ross Allen and Ryan Macbeth from Brigade are in the 14-man squad, but there is no place for Beechgrove team mate Kyle Magee.

Newbuildings opening bowler Trent McKeegan is named for the first time in the panel by Head Coach Gary Wilson, with the seam bowling unit looking strong despite the absence of Young -Graham Hume, Ryan Macbeth, Trent McKeegan and Bready speedster Conor Olphert all more than capable performers.

Thereís also a first call-up for Eglintonís leg-spinning all-rounder Robbie Millar, who would have been hoping to be in Spain this week along with Nathan McGuire and Irelandís Under 19ís as they attempt to qualify for the World Cup.

With Graham Kennedy, skipper McBrine and Ross Allen, the spinning quartet should provide plenty of variations for the side as they do battle with Leinster Lightning, Northern Knights and Munster Reds in the final weekend of the Irish domestic season.

The Warriors face hosts Northern Knights on Friday (10.30am), followed by clashes against Munster Reds on Saturday (3pm), and what could be a title showdown on Sunday (3pm).


Andy McBrine (Donemana), William Porterfield (Formby), Stephen Doheny (Merrion), Shane Getkate (Instonians), William McClintock (Donemana), Graham Kennedy (CIYMS), Graham Hume (Waringstown), Ross Allen (Brigade), Jared Wilson (Ardmore), Robbie Millar (Eglinton), Trent McKeegan (Newbuildings), Conor Olphert (Bready), Ryan Macbeth (Brigade).