Leinster Lightning have a few new faces in their squad as they attempt to win the T20 Trophy for the seventh time.

For once they aren't in pole position, but their win in the last game against NW Warriors at Bready means the destiny of the title is still very much in their hands.

They can call on the services of five of Ireland's T20 World Cup squad, although Josh Little and Simi Singh are only allowed to play in two of the three games as they have their workload managed.

Skipper George Dockrell, Lorcan Tucker and Kevin O'Brien are the other three Ireland squad members.

Teenager left-arm seamer Mikey O'Reilly gets  call-up following an impressive Future Series with the Bolts. He is one of four YMCA players, along with Simi Singh, Jack Tector and Rory Anders.

There are recalls too for Merrion double-winning captain Tom Stanton, while Theo Lawson's prolific club form with Pembroke has earned him a place, eight years after the last of his three appearances.

He is one of five Pembroke players in the extended 14-man squad, with Lorcan Tucker, Gavin Hoey, Josh Little, and JJ Garth the others.

It could have been as many as seven, but there is no Andy Balbirnie or Barry McCarthy in the squad.

No reason has been given for the absence of the pair but it does mention 'availability issues' which would suggest the pair are being rested by the governing body.

Lightning face Munster Reds on Friday (10.30am), Northern Knights on Saturday (10.30am), and the Warriors on Sunday (3pm) in the final game of the competition.


  • George Dockrell (Phoenix) (Capt) 
  • Lorcan Tucker (Pembroke)
  • Jack Tector (YMCA)
  • Kevin O’Brien (Railway Union)
  • Simi Singh (YMCA)*
  • David O’Halloran (Malahide)
  • Gavin Hoey (Pembroke)
  • Josh Little (Pembroke)*
  • Jamie Grassi (Phoenix)
  • JJ Garth (Pembroke)
  • Rory Anders (YMCA)
  • Theo Lawson (Pembroke)
  • Tom Stanton (Merrion)
  • Mikey O’Reilly (YMCA)

* Will only play two of the scheduled fixtures