The identity of the four semi-finalists had already been confirmed, but there was still the matter of the final group stage games to take place yesterday in Belgium.

The game many would have been watching was the Group 1 encounter between Denmark and the hosts, which on current form looks to be a preview of the final. Put into bat, the hosts scored 161-9 from their 20 overs. No batter stood out with the top score being Saber Zakhil’s 27.

Denmark captain Hamid Shah top scored in their reply with 58 from 48 balls, but nobody else was able to make a big score and Denmark were restricted to 149-9 from their 20 overs, losing by 12 runs. Ahmad Khalid Ahmadzai and Sajad Ahmadzai both took three wickets for the home side.

In the other Group 1 match Hungary were put in by Gibraltar and scored 134-8 from their 20 overs, with the experienced Iain Latin taking four wickets for 25 runs. Captain Balaji Pai top scored in the Gibraltar reply with 46 at exactly a run a ball as Gibraltar won by four wickets with two balls to spare, their first win of the tournament.

In Group 2 action, Portugal opted to bat first against Spain and were bowled out for just 77 with Yasir Ali taking three wickets for just eight runs. Spain were largely untroubled in their run chase, knocking off the required runs in 9 overs to win by 8 wickets.

In the afternoon Group 2 contest between Malta and Israel, Malta batted first after Israel put them in. Heinrich Gericke top scored with 48 from 26 balls as they scored 136 before losing their final wicket two balls from the end of their 20 overs. Josh Evans was the pick of the bowlers with 3-22. Israel managed 120-7 in reply with Varun Thamotharam matching Evans with figures of 3-22.

In today’s semi-finals, Belgium will play Portugal and Denmark take on Spain. In the fifth place play-off semi-finals, Gibraltar come up against Israel and Hungary will be playing Malta.