Fresh from their Stan Nagaiah Trophy win against Singapore, Malaysia are hosting a quadrangular series against Bhutan, Maldives and Thailand. With the Kinrara Oval now out of commission, the matches are being played at the National University of Malaysia’s cricket ground in Bangi.

The hosts took on a Bhutan side featuring seven T20I debutants in the opening contest today and were put into bat after Bhutan captain Jigme Singye won the toss. Zubaidi Zulkifle and captain Virandeep Singh started their innings with a 140 run partnership that ended when Zulkifle was dismissed for 96, scored from just 43 balls.

Singh was the next man out, having scored 54, and Malaysia finished their 20 overs having scored 213-4.

Openers Namgay Thinley and Jigme Singye were two of just three Bhutan players to score double figures in their reply with the visitors unable to even come close to chasing down their target. They were restricted to 58-8 from their 20 overs, losing by 155 runs.

The tournament continues tomorrow with Maldives playing Thailand in the morning followed by another match between Malaysia and Bhutan in the afternoon.