Japan and hosts Papua New Guinea both won today as the East-Asia Pacific qualifier for the 2024 Men's T20 World Cup began today at Amini Park in the PNG capital Port Moresby.

One team from the four team double round robin event - Philippines and Vanuatu are the other participants - will qualify for the main event in West Indies & USA next year.

The tournament began with Japan captain Kendel Kadowaki-Fleming winning the toss and chosing to bat first against the Philippines. He led from the front, top scoring for Japan with 60 from only 37 balls before he was bowled by Amanpreet Sirah.

Lachlan Yamamoto-Lake and Ibrahim Takahashi also contributed, scoring 41 and 31 respectively. Sirah was the pick of the Philippines bowlers, taking 3-32.

The Japanese bowlers kept the Philippines in check, restricting them to 113-5 from their 20 overs. Jordan Alegra was their top scorer with 33 in their 53 run defeat.

The hosts played their first game in the second session of the day, with Vanuatu winning the toss and opting to bat first. Only two of their batters were able to reach double figures and they were kept to just 71-8 from their 20 overs. John Kariko - on T20I debut - was the pick of the PNG bowlers taking three wickets for six runs.

The home team lost Tony Ura in the first over of their reply but were otherwise untroubled, knocking off their target in only 6.3 overs to win by nine wickets. Assad Vala (34 from 17) and Kiplin Doriga (32 from 18) put on an unbroken 71 to secure the win.

The tournament continues tomorrow with Vanuatu playing Japan and hosts PNG facing off against the Philippines.