Ireland have named six internationals for their Over 40s clash against Wales at Merrion on Thursday August 24th.

The Irish will be hoping to build on their win against England earlier this summer, when Kenny Carroll - who played for Ireland in the 2007 World Cup - scored a century, sharing a stand of 163 with John Anderson, who made 71 in the 53-run win.

The other four to have played at international level include Dom Joyce, who like Anderson will be playing on his home turf at Anglesea Road, Stephen Ogilby, Nigel Jones, and Allan Eastwood, who is relishing the opportunity to pit his wits against counterparts from the UK.

“The match against England was taken very seriously by all involved and produced some excellent, quality cricket,” said the Rush paceman.

“It was a chance to represent Ireland, and everyone involved was immensely proud, as they should be. We knew that England were very well organised with a full coaching staff, and plenty of county experience in their ranks.
“We produced a fine all-round performance to get the win, and hopefully we can put in a similar performance against Wales. We have a good mix of talented players, most of whom are still plying their trade in senior cricket in Ireland and beyond, and still producing the goods.”

There are a few new faces in the Irish squad with Fox Lodge all-rounder Johnny Robinson, who was Man-of-the-Match in their 2022 Senior Cup win named, as well as former Pakistan first-class cricketer Shahid Iqbal.

Another former Irish international, Greg Molins is manager of the squad, and he is looking forward to hosting Wales.

“It should be a great occasion for all concerned, and we hope to build on the concept in the years ahead. We are delighted to have garnered the support of some fantastic sponsors including JS Financial, and Ed Sports, which will help make the international a day to remember.”

Ireland v Wales, Over-40 international, at Anglesea Road, Merrion, Thursday August 24 (12pm).

Dom Joyce (Capt), (Merrion), John Anderson (Merrion), Danny Barclay (Pembroke), Kenny Carroll (Railway Union), Luke Clinton (The Hills), Allan Eastwood (Rush), Shahid Iqbal (Rush), Nigel Jones (Lisburn), Stephen Ogilby (Ex-Bready), Dave O’Rordan (Pembroke), Jonny Robinson (Fox Lodge), Paul Ryan (Clontarf).
Head Coach Nikki Kenny, Team Manager Greg Molins, Umpires: David Streek and Willie Clark.