Singapore eased to victory by 8 wickets on the D/L method to avoid a whitewash. Malaysia take the Stan Nagaiah Trophy 2-1 but today's performance may give them some cause for concern ahead of the ACC Premier League next week.

Arjun Mutreja scored 50* in the rain affected chase as Singapore knocked off the runs comfortably after Malaysia had set a below par total of 190.

Malaysia batted first for the 3rd match running after winning the toss but their top order was destroyed by Suresh Appusamy (3-41) who picked up 3 early wickets as the hosts looked to get off to a blistering start. Chetan Suryawanshi (3-44) dented any attempt of a recovery by taking 2 wickets to leave Malaysia 6 down inside 15 overs.

Malaysia had to consolidate and the all-rounders did just that, Khizar Durrani led the resistance with a superb 84 and put on 87 in 27 overs for the 7th wicket with Hammad Ullah Khan (42) to add some respectability to the score. Abhiraj Singh (3-36) mopped up the tail after a few quick runs were added which saw Malaysia bowled out for 190.

Early wickets were key but Malaysia couldn't make a breakthrough. Singapore were obviously aware of the rain due later in the day as they raced along at 6 an over in the powerplay. With Singapore in complete control at 74-1 in the 15th over, the heavens opened.

It looked like that the game could be abandoned with over an hour of persistent, but not heavy, rain. However, shortly before the cut off time, the players made their way back out onto the pitch at Bayuemas Oval.

Singapore were set a revised target of 112 in 26 overs. A relatively simple task after all the hard work was done early on. Arjun Mutreja saw the team home with 22 balls to spare to gain a consolation win for the visitors.

A very close and entertaining Stan Nagaiah Trophy which could easily have went 3-0 to Singapore but Malaysia won the crucial moments and ended up as champions for the 4th consecutive time. Next up for Malaysia is the ACC Premier League while Singapore will play in the ACC Elite League just before both teams compete in Division 4 in June.

This article originally appeared on Malaysia Cricket and is reproduced with kind permission of the author.