Saudi Arabia have won again at the ACC Elite League in Singapore, beating Bahrain by 7 wickets in their third match.

Bahrain batted first after losing the toss and lost wickets at regular intervals throughout their innings, never really getting up to a decent run rate. Mirza Yaqoob scored 51, but no other batsman made any sort of significant contribution.

Ibrarul Haq was the pick of the bowlers for Saudi Arabia, taking 4-42 as Bahrain were bowled out for 159.

In reply, Saudi Arabia lost two wickets early on for just 15 runs. But that didn't set them back at all as the third wicket pairing of Abdul Waheed and Shahbaz Rasheed put on 100 before the latter was dismissed for 47.

Waheed stayed in and finished unbeaten on 75 as Saudi Arabia completed a 7 wicket win in 35.3 overs.

Over at the Padang, Bhutan's poor start to the tournament continued as they were comprehensively beaten by the hosts. Singapore started with Arjun Mutreja and Rezza Gaznavi putting on 197 for the opening wicket.

Both fell just short of their centuries, scoring 92 and 96 respectively. The middle order faltered somewhat, with Tenzin Wangchuk taking 6-73, but Abhiraj Singh and Mulewa Dharmichand put on 94 for the eighth wicket to help ensure that Singapore posted 388-9 from their 50 overs.

Bhutan never really got going in reply, with only Thinley Jamtsho and Sonam Tobgay getting past 20. Amjad Mahboob was the pick of the Singapore bowlers, taking 3-17 as Bhutan were bowled out for 106, losing by 282 runs.

It was a low scoring game over at the Kallang ground, with Kuwait being bowled out for 153 after being inserted by the Maldives. Ibrahim Hussain and Abdullah Shahid both took three wickets, whilst Mohammed Ghulam top scored with 27.

Surprisingly, Kuwait managed to defend that total as the Maldives were bundled out for 96. Mohamed Rishwan was the only one of their batsmen to get a start, scoring 39. Only two of his team mates made double figures.

The tournament continues today with Singapore playing Bahrain, whilst Bhutan will play Kuwait and the Maldives will take on Saudi Arabia.


Saudi Arabia beat Bahrain by 7 wickets
Indian Association, Singapore, 10 June
Bahrain 159 (42.5 overs, Mirza Yaqoob 51, Ibrarul Haq 4-42)
Saudi Arabia 161-3 (35.3 overs, Abdul Waheed 75*, Shahbaz Rasheed 47)

Singapore beat Bhutan by 282 runs
The Padang, Singapore, 10 June
Singapore 388-9 (50 overs, R Gaznavi 96, A Mutreja 92, M Dharmichand 57*, T Wangchuk 6-73)
Bhutan 106 (45.3 overs, Amjad Mahboob 3-17)

Kuwait beat Maldives by 57 runs
Kallang Ground, Singapore, 10 June
Kuwait 153 (48.1 overs, Ibrahim Hassan 3-21, Abdullah Shahid 3-27)
Maldives 96 (27.5 overs, Mohamed Rishwan 39, M Ali 3-31)