Afghanistan's World Cup preparation tour of Australia and New Zealand continued today as they took on the Australian Capital Territory at the Manuka Oval in Canberra, the ground where they will play their World Cup opener against Bangladesh.

Afghanistan captain Mohammad Nabi won the toss and put the ACT into bat. Aftab Alam removed both openers within the first eight overs of the match. Matthew Condon and Andrew Harriott then put on 71 for the third wicket before Condon was out for 46. Harriott was the next man out, scoring 66 and putting on 71 for the fourth wicket with Michael Spaseki.

Spaseki went on to score 45 before he was the seventh man out in the 43rd over, with the score on 205. The ACT tail was able to take the score to 266 before they were bowled out one over short of their quota, with number 10 Daniel Magin scoring an unbeaten 32 from 19 balls. Aftab Alam was the pick of the Afghan bowlers with 4-41.

Nawroz Mangal dominated the early part of Afghanistan's innings, scoring 85 before he was the third man out in the 38th over. He put on 96 for that third wicket with Nasit Jamal, who was the next man out having scored 41.

Afghanistan's middle order got them to 233-6 after 47 overs, needing 34 to secure their first tour win. The big hitting Gulbadin Naib scored 18 from the 48th over to put Afghanistan in a great position. He was out in the 49th over, but Samiullah Shenwari and Rahmat Shah were able to score 11 from the other five balls to leave their team needing five runs.

Shenwari scored 2 from the first ball of the final over and then hit a four to secure a three wicket win.

Afghanistan will play the same opponents on Sunday before moving over to New Zealand for the second leg of their tour. Whilst there they will play Auckland and Northern Districts in Mount Maunganui.

Australian Capital Territory lost to Afghanistan by 3 wickets
Manuka Oval, Canberra, 26 September
Australia Capital Territory 266 (49 overs, A Harriott 66, M Condon 46, M Spaseski 45, Aftab Alam 4-41)
Afghanistan 268-7 (49.2 overs, Nawroz Mangal 85, Nasir Jamal 41)