National T20 Cup 2023
Final: CIYMS beat Balbriggan in a superover
Malahide, 27 August.
CIYMS 134/7 (15 overs; T Koen 36, R Adair 23; Nasr Farooq 2-15, S Willemse 2-26)
Balbriggan 137/3 (18 overs, G Ford 59*, C de Freitas 37*, C Fletcher 21, A Coulter 2-18 Superover: Balbriggan 5/2 (1 over), CIYMS 6/1 (0.5 over)
Semi-final: Cork County lost to CIYMS by 99 runs
Mardyke, 13 August.
CIYMS 210-3 (20 overs; J van der Merwe 68*, J Matchett 57, R Adair 42, C Dougherty 28, A Saddique 2-35)
Cork County 111/9 (20 overs; S Di Bartolomeo 43, R Duggan 20; C McCullough 3-14, E Nuttall 2-4, A Coulter 2-18)
CIYMS produced a powerhouse batting display to blow away Cork County at The Mardyke. The Belmont side hit 20 fours and 12 sixes in an imposing total of 210 for 3. There were half centuries for Jason van der Merwe and skipper John Matchett, plus runs too for Ross Adair (42) and Chris Dougherty (28). Van Der Merwe top-scored with an unbeaten 68 from only 26 balls (6 fours, 5 sixes), while Matchett's 57 from 31 deliveries included 6 fours and 3 maximums. Adair had got his side off to a fast start clearing the ropes 3 times and they never looked back. Cork's reply was soon in tatters, losing two wickets in the first over - including the wonderfully named Thorne Prophet - slumping to 13 for 4. Italian international tefano Di Bartolomeo ensured some respectability with 43, while Robert Duggan made 20 as they ended on 111 for 9. Carson McCullough took three wickets, while there were two apiece for Ed Nuttall and Allen Coulter. CIYMS will go in search of their third title as they take on Balbriggan at Malahide on Sunday August 27th.
Brigade lost to Balbriggan by 5 wickets
The Rectory, 6 August.
Brigade 130/8 (14 overs; Scott Macbeth 46, Ifty Hussain 39, Adam McDaid 26; Farooq Nasr 3-20, Eoin Birch 2-21)
Balbriggan 134/5 (13.2 overs; Cameron Rowe 73*, Greg Ford 43; Scott Macbeth 2-5, Ryan Macbeth 2-23) (Target 133 in 14 overs. )
Greg Ford and Cameron Rowe shared a stand of 114 to help Balbriggan beat Brigade (CricketEurope)
A fourth wicket stand of 114 in 10 overs between Cameron Rowe and Greg Ford powered Balbriggan into the final of the All Ireland T20 Cup in an entertaining match of fluctuating fortunes at The Rectory. A rain delay meant the match was initially 16 overs per side, with another shower cutting it a further two. Irish Under 19 international Scott Macbeth top-scored for the 2021 champions, hitting four sixes and 3 fours in his 46, while Ifty Hussain (39) and Adam McDaid (26) both cleared the ropes three times as Brigade made 130 for 8. Farooq Nasr (3-20) was inches from claiming a final over hat-trick, while Eoin Birch (2-21) bowled with plenty of fire. The Leinster champions faced a DLS adjusted target of 133 in 14, and that looked a long way off as Farooq Nasr, Conor Fletcher and Chris de Freitas all fell in the first three overs to leave them on 16 for 3. It could have been worse with Cameron Rowe dropped first ball off Ryan Macbeth (2-23). Rowe and skipper Greg Ford rebuilt and although the required rate was creeping up, you felt they were biding their time on a ground renowned for its true bouncy wicket and small boundaries. Still, there must have been a few nerves as they reached 57 for 3 after 8 overs, needing a further 76 from the last six overs. Rowe and Ford stepped on the gas as the next four overs went for 24, 13, 14 and 17 - a total of 68 in just 24 balls. Ford went for 43 (1 four, 4 sixes), stumped off Scott Macbeth (2-5), while Matt Pollard fell first ball, but by that stage only four were needed from the last over. It was fitting that it fell to Rowe to score the winning runs - his fifth four to go with seven sixes in his unbeaten 73. Balbriggan will have to wait to see who they play in the final at Malahide on August 27th after the CIYMS v Cork County game was abandoned.
Balbriggan Head Coach Andre Botha
More from CricketEurope
International and domestic scorecards & statistics - for teams, competitions and players.
All the material published by CricketEurope since 2000 … and more!
Use the pull down menu above to view the latest international, interprovincial and provincial league tables.
Latest Photos
 North West Awards dinner
21 November (John Fleming)
Rachit Gaur
 Ardmore captain Rachit Gaur after they won the Premiership
Ed Liddle's Player Profiles
 Raymond Hunter
Ireland 1957-1967
CricketEurope Magazine
 The Irish Junior Cup – the forgotten competition
The Irish Junior Cup was the brainchild of KP Tanham and was competed for between 1950 and 1980.