NCU T20 Trophy 2023
Final: Muckamore beat Ballymena by 7 wickets
Waringstown, 30 July.
Ballymena 148/7 (20 overs: Glen Adams 60, John Glass 43; Sathish Suresh 3-30)
Muckamore 151/3 (18.1 overs: Ben Calitz 56*, Luke Allen 30, Ewan Wilson 27 )
Muckamore celebrate the T20 Trophy win (Dave Pettard)
Muckamore claimed the NCU T20 Trophy with a 7 wicket win over Ballymena at The Lawn. Chasing 149, they were given a quick start with an opening stand of 46 in 27 balls between Ewan Wilson (27) and Kyllin Vardhan (10). The defining stand though was the third wicket one of 90 in 12 overs between Man-of-the-Match Ben Calitz and Luke Allen. Calitz top-scored with an unbeaten 56 from 38 balls (7 fours), while Allen made a more sedate 30 as they clinched the win with 11 balls to spare. Ballymena's total of 148 for 7 was based mainly around an opening stand of 87 in 11. 4 overs between Glen Adams, who hit 3 fours and cleared the ropes four times in his 60 from 40 balls, supported by an even time 43 from John Glass. Satish Suresh took three wickets, while Trevor Britton's 1 for 18 did much to stall the Eaton Park's acceleration hopes. So, one trophy in the bag for Muckamore, with more very much in their sights as they sit proudly at the top of Section One.
Semi-final: Muckamore beat Armagh by 9 wickets
Belmont, 2 July.
Armagh 94/8 (20 overs: Jamie Rogers 43; Shane Henderson 2-7)
Muckamore 95/1 (15 overs: Satish Suresh 34*, Vinoth Srinivasan 28, Ewan Wilson 22*)
Muckamore celebrate the win (Dave Pettard)
Armagh opener Jamie Rogers with the only double figure score in what was a disappointing effort by the batting lineup. Wickets shared around, Shane Henderson with two in a thrifty four over spell and one each for Gill, Britton, Suresh and Karthik. No trouble for Muckamore chasing down that underpar total with openers Srinivanasan and Suresh adding 69 for the first wicket before Ewan Wilson came to the crease to hit two sixes and a four to see his side home.
Semi-final: Ballymena beat Cregagh by 2 runs (DLS)
Belmont, 2 July.
Ballymena 143/5 (19 overs: Glen Adams 100, Michael Caithness 23)
Cregagh 144/9 (19 overs: Jonny Moore 49, Paul Douglas 26; Mark Stinson 2-13, Owen Dick 2-25, Glen Adams 2-40) (Match reduced to 19 overs - Target 147 )
A spectacular century by Glen Adams the highlight of the Ballymena innings, his 59 ball effort including 6x4s and 7x6s. The Ballymena innings was interrupted by rain and one over was lost which increased the Cregagh target to 147. In the end they came up just short when at one stage they looked comfortable in the chase, the late introduction of Mark Stinson who claimed two quick wickets proving crucial to Ballymena's cause.
More from CricketEurope
International and domestic scorecards & statistics - for teams, competitions and players.
All the material published by CricketEurope since 2000 … and more!
Use the pull down menu above to view the latest international, interprovincial and provincial league tables.
Latest Photos
 North West Awards dinner
21 November (John Fleming)
Rachit Gaur
 Ardmore captain Rachit Gaur after they won the Premiership
Ed Liddle's Player Profiles
 Raymond Hunter
Ireland 1957-1967
CricketEurope Magazine
 The Irish Junior Cup – the forgotten competition
The Irish Junior Cup was the brainchild of KP Tanham and was competed for between 1950 and 1980.