NCU Junior Cricket 2023
T20 Bowl Final: Bangor beat Cooke Collegians by 1 run
Upritchard Park, 22 August.
Bangor 103/7 (17 overs; K Samunderu 26, A McCusker 22, S McMillan 18; M Khatri 3-20, P Kerr 2-28)
Cooke Collegians 102/5 (17 overs; H Gibbons 59*)
Winners Bangor (CricketEurope)
Cooke Collegians will be wondering just how they managed to lose this T20 Bowl final after dominating Bangor the whole way through until the last stages. Bangor were restricted to a modest 103/7 in a game reduced to 17 overs, with Kuda Samundera (26), Adam McCusker (22) and teenager Sam McMillan (18) all hitting three boundaries. Manoj Khatri (3-20) and Paul Kerr (2-28) best with the ball. The result looked a foregone conclusion as Man-of-the-Match Hugh Gibbons and Ashish Pandita (30) shared an opening stand of 67. The required rate had dropped to under four, 37 needed in 9.2 overs and all ten wickets intact. Surely Cooke Collegians couldn't lose it from here? Think again. It's a funny old game and pressure produces panic. Doubly so in a final. George Prince got the breakthrough, and further wickets for William Simpson, Kuda Samunderu, and Ricky McLarnon meant the Seasiders kept a toehold in the game. Still, with only four needed off the last over, six wickets intact and Gibbons on strike, the visitors were still strong favourites. Chris Pyper though was the Bangor hero, conceding just a single off the first five balls, while dismissing Luke Willmott. Needing three off the final ball, Ryan Hanna and Gibbons could only scramble a bye, as Bangor pulled off an incredible victory. Captain Johnny Parker lifted the glass trophy aloft on a night that will be long remembered by the home support and players.
T20 Bowl Final: Bangor v Cooke Collegians: abandoned.
Derriaghy, 6 August.
Cooke Collegians 29-1 (4.3 overs)
Intermediate Cup Final: North Down II beat Ballymena II by 145 runs
Sandy Bay, Larne, 5 August.
North Down 247/6 (40 overs; Tom Crothers 80*, Hamilton Coulter 70, Stephen Scott 37; Josh Scott 3-30)
Ballymena 102/9 innings closed. (29.5 overs; Declan O'Boyle 30; Jacob McClure-Dalzell 4-18, Josh Corbett 3-40)
North Down 2ndXI - Intermediate Cup winners 2023 (CricketEurope)
Tom Crothers scored a Man-of-the-Match 80 not out to propel North Down to a comprehensive 145-run win over Ballymena in the Intermediate Cup final at Sandy Bay. Crothers innings came from only 54 balls (7 fours, 1 six), as he and Stephen Scott added (37) added 73 in just 8 overs for the 6th wicket. The platform had been laid by opener Hamilton Coulter (70), who shared a 3rd wicket stand of 50 with Nathan Burns (21). Josh Scott (3-30) was the pick of the Ballymena attack, but a total of 247 for 6 looked imposing and so it proved. Billy Adams conceded just 14 runs in his 8-over spell, and scoreboard pressure built. Jacob McClure-Dalzell (4-18) and Josh Corbett (3-40) doing the damage. Credit must go to the Larne ground staff for their remarkable work in ensuring the final got the green light.
Junior Cup Final: Bangor lost to Lurgan by 76 runs (DLS)
Bangor, 29 July.
Lurgan 219/6 (40 overs: Stephen Chambers 98*, Stephen Johnston 88; Michael Skelly 3-45, Josh Bates 2-32)
Bangor 121/9 (27 overs: Richard McLarnon 28, Andrew Kirkpatrick 23; Adam Johnson 2-13, Callum Grieve 2-21, Darwish Nazari 2-29, Paul Stafford 2-31) (Match reduced to 33 overs - Target 198.)
Stephen Johnston (88) and Stephen Chambers (98*) whose match winning partnership was worth 135. (CricketEurope)
More from CricketEurope
International and domestic scorecards & statistics - for teams, competitions and players.
All the material published by CricketEurope since 2000 … and more!
Use the pull down menu above to view the latest international, interprovincial and provincial league tables.
Latest Photos
 North West Awards dinner
21 November (John Fleming)
Rachit Gaur
 Ardmore captain Rachit Gaur after they won the Premiership
Ed Liddle's Player Profiles
 Raymond Hunter
Ireland 1957-1967
CricketEurope Magazine
 The Irish Junior Cup – the forgotten competition
The Irish Junior Cup was the brainchild of KP Tanham and was competed for between 1950 and 1980.