Boys Under 17 Interprovincials 2023
North West beat NCU by 6 wickets
Beechgrove, 24 August.
NCU 118/5 (20 overs; J Keates 41*, J Snell 40)
North West 120/4 (17.4 overs; S McGowan 45*, C Simpson 20, L McElwee 19; J Snell 2-16)
Stephen McGowan's powerful unbeaten 45 steered the North West to a six-wicket in their T20 clash with the NCU at Beechgrove. Chasing 119, the hosts looked to be struggling to keep up with the required rate until the arrival of McGowan. The Bonds Glen player hit 5 sixes and two fours to seal the win in the 18th over. Jack Snell (2-16) was the best of the NCU attack, and he also made 40 in their 118 for 5 - sharing a half century stand with Jude Keates (41*). The teams are due to play two games on Friday, also at Beechgrove.
North West lost to Leinster by 54 runs (DLS)
Beechgrove, 15 August.
Leinster 257/8 (40 overs; B Thomson 74, A John 68, R Smith 26; A Qayyum 2-35, A Cooke 2-56)
North West 160/8 (32 overs; J Smallwoods 41, S McGowan 25; A Olaganathan 4-35, C Woods 2-33) (Target 215 in 32 overs.)
A third wicket stand of 103 in 12 overs between the Phoenix pair of Ben Thomson and Andrew John helped Leinster U17s to a 2-0 series win over the North West at Beechgrove. Top-scorer Thomson hit five boundaries in his 74, also sharing a second wicket stand of 52 with Terenure's Ryan Smith (26). John's 68 came from only 44 balls (4 fours, 2 sixes) helping the young Dubliners post 257 for 8 in their 40 overs. Abdul Qayyum and Aaron Cooke took two wickets apiece for the young Warriors. Rain meant an adjusted target of 215 in 32 overs, but they never threatened despite 41 from James Smallwoods and Stephen McGowan's 25, that included three sixes. A final total of 160 for 8 saw four wickets for Arvind Olaganathan of Adamstown and two for Clontarf's Conall Woods, who enjoyed a successful two days. The focus now switches to Under 13 level with a festival being held in the North West this week.
North West lost to Leinster by 1 wicket
Beechgrove, 14 August.
North West 184 (44.4 overs; J McIvor 47*, J Montgomery 31, J Smallwoods 26, M Collum 24; F Manoj 2-15, A Nawabzai 2-21, A Olaganathan 2-24, C Woods 2-28)
Leinster 185-9 (44.5 overs; B Thomson 32, C Woods 25*, F Manoj 23, J Bell 2-15, A Cooke 2-21)
The winning Leinster squad (CricketEurope)
Leinster U17s clinched a dramatic one-wicket win over the North West in the first game of their two-match Challenge Series at Beechgrove. Clontarf's Conall Woods was the hero, coming it at number 10 with 38 still needed, making an unbeaten 25 to seal victory off the penultimate ball of the 45 overs game. James Bell and Aaron Cooke took two wickets apiece for the home side, but Davy Scanlon's side will reflect on the concession of 46 extras - including 32 wides and 2 no-balls. Newbuildings Jack McIvor top scored for the hosts with an unbeaten 47, while Jake Montgomery made 31, building on an opening stand of 55 between James Smallwoods (26) and Matthew Collum (24). For Leinster there were two wickets apiece for Fabin Manoj, Abdullah Nawabzai, Arvind Olaganathan, and Conall Woods. The sides meet again on Tuesday at the same venue.
Leinster beat North West by 5 wickets
Stormont, 7 July.
North West 142 (47.4 overs; Matthew Collum 25, James Smallwoods 22; Matthew Weldon 2-7, Olly Riley 2-25, Seb Dijkstra 2-28, Liam Gilhooly 2-40)
Leinster 143/5 (28.4 overs; Aaron Doyle 40, Macdara Cosgrave 33. Hassan Shahid 21. James Sugrue 20*; Gavin Roulston 4-14)
Leinster captain Macdara Cosgrave with the trophy (CricketEurope)
Leinster clinched the Under 17 youth interpro title with a 5-wicket win over the North West in a week that was blighted by bad weather. The Junior Warriors found the going tough and struggled to 142, with Bready's Matthew Collum top-scoring with a patient 25, while James Smallwoods made 22. There were two early blows for the NW - one copped Charlie Simpson on the helmet forcing him to retire hurt with concussion, and the other the loss of their talisman Gavin Roulston for a single. There were two wickets apiece for Matthew Weldon, Olly Riley, Seb Dijkstra, and Liam Gilhooly. Leinster lost Srihan Karpe to Charlie Downey early in the chase, but a second wicket stand of 62 in just 7 overs took the young Dubliners past the halfway mark of the chase. Doyle hit 7 fours in a top-score of 40 from just 30 deliveries, while skipper Macdara Cosgrave stroked six boundaries in his 33. Their charge was halted by an excellent spell from Gavin Roulston (4-14), but the result was never really in any doubt. Hassan Shahid (21) and James Sugrue (20*) sealing victory for Brian O'Rourke's and Fintan McAllister's side.
NCU beat Munster by 132 runs
Stormont, 7 July.
NCU 310-8 (50 overs; Harry Dyer 100 ret, Sam McMillan 59, Mark Hanna 27, John Speers 20, Adam Leckey 20; I Ashan 2-24, K Kumar 2-40)
Munster 178 (50 overs; Mudit Thakur 50, Ryan Nolan 30, Alistair Watt 3-23, Angus Farrell 2-16, Ollie Dyer 2-24, Alex Armstrong 2-38)
Centurion Harry Dyer (CricketEurope)
Harry Dyer ensured the NCU finished the Under 17 interprovincial series on a winning note as his unbeaten century helped the hosts to a 132-run win over Munster at his home ground of Stormont. Th Junior Knights captain hit 12 fours and cleared the ropes once in his 100 off 101 balls before retiring. He shared a second wicket stand of 118 with Sam McMillan, who hit 8 fours in his 59. There were runs too for Mark Hanna (27), John Speers (20) and Adam Leckey (20) in a final total of 310 for 8. Munster battled bravely in reply, before being dismissed off the final ball for 178. Mudit Thakur top-scored with a half century, while Ryan Nolan made 30. Alistair Watt took three wickets, while there were two apiece for Angus Farrell, Ollie Dyer, and Alex Armstrong.
Leinster v North West - no result
Stormont, 6 July.
Leinster 175 (44.4 overs. H Shahid 40, A Doyle 20, S Karpe 20, J McIvor 3-15, C Downey 2-15, J Montgomery 2-20)
North West
NCU beat Munster by 7 wickets
Stormont, 6 July.
Munster 65 (27.3 overs, J Snell 4-11, H Dyer 3-8, J West 2-14)
NCU 66-3 (8 overs, R Hunter 36 *, Kanishk Kumar 2-24)
NCU lost to Leinster by 40 runs (DLS)
Stormont, 4 July.
NCU 123 (39.5 overs: A Leckey 51, S Karpe 4-21, O Riley 3-23)
Leinster 78-1 (22.4 overs: J Sugrue 26* M Cosgrove 22*) (Rain ended match when LCU 78-1. Par score 38 in 22.4 overs)
North West beat Munster by 100 runs (DLS)
Stormont, 4 July.
North West 323-5 (50 overs: G Roulston 152, L McElwee 104*; Kanishk Kumar 2-69)
Munster 76-8 (21.4 overs: R Nolan 25; Abdul Qaayum 3-3, S Haslett 3-16, J Montgomery 2-9) (Match ended by rain. Par score at 21.4 overs 176.)
The two centurions (CricketEurope)
North West v NCU
Bready, 30 June.
North West
Munster lost to Leinster by 8 wickets
Mardyke, 27 June.
Munster 144 (49.1 overs: M Thakur 35, K Kumar 33; L Gilhooly 4-19, S Karpe 3-25)
Leinster 145-2 (30.1 overs: M Cosgrave 63*)
Other Matches
More from CricketEurope
International and domestic scorecards & statistics - for teams, competitions and players.
All the material published by CricketEurope since 2000 … and more!
Use the pull down menu above to view the latest international, interprovincial and provincial league tables.
Latest Photos
 North West Awards dinner
21 November (John Fleming)
Rachit Gaur
 Ardmore captain Rachit Gaur after they won the Premiership
Ed Liddle's Player Profiles
 Raymond Hunter
Ireland 1957-1967
CricketEurope Magazine
 The Irish Junior Cup – the forgotten competition
The Irish Junior Cup was the brainchild of KP Tanham and was competed for between 1950 and 1980.