Newsroom: Miscellaneous Articles 2024
Stella Downes and William Wilson
Stella Downes and William Wilson ©Cricket Ireland
History of All-Ireland Youth competitions ZZZZ1:57 amZZZZ
The All-Ireland Youth competitions were the brainchild of Wesley Ferris of the Mid-Ulster Cricket Group. They evolved in a similar manner to the Irish Junior Cup, and neither the ICU nor the constituent unions were involved initially in the organisation of games.
David Richardson appointment to Board of Cricket Ireland confirmed ZZZZ2:43 amZZZZ
Former ICC chief executive David Richardson was appointed to the Board of Cricket Ireland at the Annual General Meeting on Sunday.
Stella Downes becomes Cricket Ireland President ZZZZ1:20 amZZZZ
Incoming Cricket Ireland President Stella Downes gave credit to her late father for instilling a love of cricket as she accepted the honorary role at the Cricket Ireland Annual General Meeting.
New structure for international and elite domestic scorers. ZZZZ12:07 amZZZZ
Cricket Ireland has today announced a new structure for its international and elite domestic scorers.
Umpire and match referee panels ZZZZ12:00 amZZZZ
Cricket Ireland has today released its umpire and match referee panels for 2024.
Test Match saved ZZZZ12:26 amZZZZ
Cricket Ireland are expected to confirm next week that this summer’s Test match against Zimbabwe will go ahead, after scrapping plans to cut the Belfast showpiece to balance the books.
Dave Richardson to join Cricket Ireland Board ZZZZ4:50 amZZZZ
Dave Richardson will join the Board of Cricket Ireland with his appointment to be confirmed at next week's AGM.
Shelat success at WPL ZZZZ4:39 amZZZZ
Jay Shelat spent five weeks with the Royal Challengers Bangalore at the Women’s Premier League (WPL) as their main analyst in what he describes as a “development opportunity which exceeded all expectations”.
Ireland to play England and Australia ZZZZ1:16 amZZZZ
Ireland veterans have lined up a mouthwatering itinerary for the season ahead that includes clashes with both England and Australia in Dublin.
Seaver and Kennedy added to Ireland panel ZZZZ11:08 amZZZZ
Cricket Ireland has named its four-member International Umpires Panel for 2024 – featuring two new appointees, Aidan Seaver and Johnny Kennedy.
Are friends electric? ZZZZ3:18 amZZZZ
Cricket Ireland released an extraordinary statement last night in response to online criticism of the organisation’s purchase of two Tesla Y cars for senior management.
Death of Rodney Bernstein ZZZZ5:48 amZZZZ
The death has occurred of former Irish international Rodney Bernstein, who won eight caps between 1960 and 1962, taking 21 wickets, including legendary Aussies Neil Harvey and Wally Grout.
An International trial ZZZZ3:09 amZZZZ
My attention has been drawn, however, to the tale of another meeting of cricket teams from Ireland and England some two years earlier, records of which have remained secret for over two hundred years. Here I will endeavour to bring this important and historic event to the notice of interested parties.
Porterfield joins Lancashire ZZZZ1:32 amZZZZ
Former Ireland captain William Porterfield has joined the coaching staff at Lancashire.
McCallan honoured and humbled by Hall of Fame induction ZZZZ9:04 pmZZZZ
Kyle McCallan, Saibh Young and Lucius Gwynn were inducted into the Hall of Fame by the Cricket Writers of Ireland at the Awards ceremony in Dublin.
Tector and Prendergast pick up top honours ZZZZ7:38 amZZZZ
Harry Tector and Orla Prendergast were the headline winners at the 12th Irish Cricket Awards ceremony over the weekend.
Shortlists unveiled for Irish cricket awards ZZZZ3:29 amZZZZ
The shortlists have been revealed for the two big ‘international’ awards – International Men’s and International Women’s Player of the Year ahead of the Irish Cricket Awards at Clontarf Castle on Friday night.
Shelat off to India ZZZZ3:24 amZZZZ
Jay Shelat is heading to India this week to join the support staff of the Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB) in the Women’s Premier League – the franchise cricket tournament starts on  February 23rd.
Adair makes ICC Team of the Year ZZZZ6:38 amZZZZ
Mark Adair has been named in the ICC T0 International Team of the Year.
More from CricketEurope
International and domestic scorecards & statistics - for teams, competitions and players.
All the material published by CricketEurope since 2000 … and more!
The Week Ahead
19 May Triseries match 2: Netherlands v Ireland (Voorburg)
20 May Triseries match 3: Ireland v Scotland (Voorburg)
22 May Triseries match 4: Netherlands v Scotland (Voorburg)
23 May Triseries match 5: Ireland v Scotland (Voorburg)
24 May Triseries match 6: Netherlands v Ireland (Voorburg)
Interpro T20
21 May North West Warriors v Leinster Lightning (Bready)
Interpro 50 Overs
22 May North West Warriors v Leinster Lightning (Bready)
NCU T20 Cup
23 May Group A: Cliftonville Academy v North Down (Castle Grounds)
23 May Group A: Woodvale v Instonians (Ballygomartin Road)
23 May Group B: Carrickfergus v CSNI (Middle Road)
23 May Group B: Muckamore v CIYMS (Moylena)
CL U23 Districts League
23 May T20: Dublin University v Fingal (College Park)
23 May T20: South Dublin & Midlands v Dublin City (College Park)
23 May Group A: Bready v Newbuildings (Magheramason)
23 May Group A: Ballyspallen v St Johnston (Ballyspallen)
23 May Group B: Glendermott v Brigade (The Rectory)
23 May Group B: Coleraine v Bonds Glen (Sandel Lodge)
23 May Group C: Eglinton v Ardmore (Eglinton)
23 May Group C: Strabane v Burndennett (Strabane Park)
23 May Group D: The Nedd v Killyclooney (The Nedd)
23 May Group D: Fox Lodge v Donemana (Ballymagorry)
NWCU Women
20 May Bready v Bonds Glen (Magheramason)
20 May Eglinton v Fox Lodge (Eglinton)
20 May Coleraine v Newbuildings (Sandel Lodge)
View the latest international, interprovincial and provincial league tables.
Latest Photos
 Tri-Series, Netherlands v Scotland, Match 1
18 May (CricketEurope)
Jeremy Bray on Munster Reds win over Leinster Lightning
 Munster Reds Head Coach Jeremy Bray